Macon Speedway logo

Taylor Notches Two In Macon Mods

MACON, Ill. — Guy Taylor is at it again and again.

Sounds like a broken record. But it’s true. Taylor took the checkered flag in two of the six features ran during the 4th Annual Diane Bennett Memorial — a night dedicated to all drivers racing in the features with bonus money handed out to all racers — some $12,000 in cash and prizes.

Taylor won his fifth-straight and ninth Pro Modified feature to begin the night. The race was won from the pole position after he also took the checkered flag in the heat race. 

Taylor led all 15 laps.

During the Modifieds, Taylor was faced with a more challenging scenario as Mike Harrison was at Macon to race and was flying around the high banks with no troubles at all.

Taylor entered the evening tied for first place in the point standings with Rodney Standerfer. Midway through the race, Standerfer was running second & third behind and in front of David Shain, with Taylor right behind running a top five place.

Taylor was bumped and nudged by Alan Crowder which led to a stop at the bottom of the fourth turn.

Taylor’s No. 4T ended up with a flat left rear tire and was sent to the infield. Standerfer would continue on and claim the point standings lead by the race’s finish.

Harrison took all 20 laps and netted the special $1,000 first place check. 

Taylor’s next success would come in the Decatur Building Trades Pro Late Model race while racing in the No. 10CE car, a race car normally driven by Curtis Eller. Early success led to his front row starting spot along with Braden Johnson, who won the last two feature races and three of the last four main events.

Taylor’s success was on the top where he moved past Timmy Dick for the lead on lap 18 and then held on the next 22 laps of the 40-lap feature which was for $2,050-to-win.

This would make the second time that Guy Taylor has won two features on the same night in different divisions: July 9 in the Modifieds and the Pro Modifieds.

Bobby Beiler earned the 51 Bistro Street Stocks class win. 

The PureMax HART Micro Sprint Series Presented by EMi went to Daryn Stark for the second week in a row.

Brady Reed took home the Hornets feature win. 

error: Content is protected !!