The Joe Shear Classic at Madison Int'l Speedway opens the ARCA Midwest Tour season this weekend. (Doug Hornickel Photo)
The Joe Shear Classic at Madison Int'l Speedway opens the ARCA Midwest Tour season this weekend. (Doug Hornickel Photo)

Midwest Tour Opening Season With Joe Shear Classic

OREGON, Wis. – The ARCA Midwest Tour begin its season this Sunday, May 2 at Madison Int’l Speedway with the running of the Joe Shear Classic 200.

A $10,000 check awaits the winner of the tribute event at the half-mile asphalt oval. Previous ARCA Midwest Tour champions including Casey Johnson, Ty Majeski, Dalton Zehr and Jonathan Eilen are among the 30 drivers who have pre-entered.

Also entered is five-time USAC Silver Crown champion Kody Swanson, who on Sunday earned his first victory in a super late model during an ARCA/CRA Super Series event at Salem (Ind.) Speedway.

Dale Nottestad, a winner with the Big 8 Late Model Series this season, and Kulwicki Development driver Luke Fenhaus are also pre-entered.

Travis Sauter won the 2013 edition of the Joe Shear Classic, a victory that came amidst his run of 10 consecutive victories at Madison Int’l Speedway. He’ll also be on hand to try and earn another Joe Shear Classic victory.

Also pre-entered is 2018 Joe Shear Classic winner Austin Nason, who was one of 10 super late models team hand last weekend to test at Madison Int’l Speedway and topped the speed charts.

Rich Bickle Jr., who is contesting his final season behind the wheel, is the only pre-entered driver who competed against the late Joe Shear. He’s never won the Joe Shear Classic, though Bickle finished second in the most recent edition of the race in 2019.

Other pre-entries include Gabe Sommers, John DeAngelis Jr., Paul Shafer Jr., Justin Mondeik, Jacob Goede, Nick Murgic, Bobby Kendall, John Beale, Shaun Scheel and Dennis Prunty.

Joining the Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Truck Series and 602 Outlaw Late Models.

Spectator gates will open on Sunday May 2 at 10:30 a.m. with practice getting underway at 11:30 a.m. Qualifying for all three divisions begins at 12:45 p.m. with the first race at 2 p.m.

Madison Int’l Speedway has no gathering limits in place and tickets will be available at the gate. Fans are encouraged to save money by buying their tickets in advance online at

For those unable to attend, this event will be streamed live on the SPEED SPORT Network and

ARCA Midwest Tour Joe Shear Classic Pre-Entries

Dale Nottestad, Gregory Borchardt, Luke Fenhaus, Casey Johnson, John Beale, Travis Sauter, John DeAngelis Jr., Paul Shafer Jr., Stephen Scheel, Andy Monday, Bobby Kendall, Nick Murgic, Andrew Brocker, Austin Nason, Gabe Sommers, Max Kahler, Russ Blakely, Levon VanDerGeest, Jeff Storm, Kody Swanson, Greg Dreher, Dennis Prunty, Justin Mondeik, Rich Bickle Jr., Jacob Goede, Dillon Hammond, Jonathan Eilen, Ryan Farrell, Ty Majeski, Dalton Zehr.

error: Content is protected !!