Johnny Clark Finally Conquers
Johnny Clark celebrates his Oxford 250 win on Sunday night. (PASS photo)

Johnny Clark Finally Conquers The Oxford 250

OXFORD, Maine – Six-time PASS North champion Johnny Clark said before last year’s Oxford 250 that he’d trade all six of those titles for a victory in the crown jewel super late model race.

After Sunday night, that trade is no longer necessary.

In his 14th start, Clark finally tamed the Oxford 250, claiming the 47th running of the event by holding off fellow Maine native Jeff Taylor in the closing laps at Oxford Plains Speedway.

A lap-179 caution changed the game up front, with an issue on pit road dropping Taylor back to 10th and allowing Clark to take the lead from Alan Tardiff.

Clark led the rest of the way from there, finally reaching the pinnacle of the biggest super late model race in New England and becoming the 34th different winner of the event.

It was has 41st career PASS North win and second of the season.

Taylor came home as a disappointed runner-up, followed by Joey Doiron, Dave Farrington Jr. and Mike Hopkins.

Fifty-five teams attempted to make the race and 44 eventually started the 250-lapper.

Heat races were won by Tardiff, Doiron, Austin Teras, D.J. Shaw, and Gabe Brown, while the consis went to John Peters, Ben Ashline, and Curtis Gerry. Ray Christian III topped Cassius Clark for the final transfer position in the last-chance race.

The finish:

Johnny Clark, Jeff Taylor, Joey Doiron, Dave Farrington Jr., Mike Hopkins, D.J. Shaw, Ben Ashline, Trevor Sanborn, Garrett Hall, Gabe Brown, Alan Tardiff, Curtis Gerry, Derek Ramstrom, Cassius Clark, Eddie MacDonald, Austin Teras, Ben Rowe, Jon Peters, Brandon Barker, Dan Winter, Mike Rowe, Wyatt Alexander, Corey Bubar, Travis Benjamin, Craig Weinstein, Scott McDaniel, Kate Re, Joey Pastore, Derek Griffith, Josh Childs, Ray Christian III, Kyle Desouza, Calvin Rose Jr., Bubba Pollard, Shawn Martin, Tracy Gordon, Scott Robbins, Travis Stearns, Tim Brackett, Ryan Kuhn, Ryan Robbins, Alan Wilson, Anthony Costantino, Nick Sweet.

error: Content is protected !!