Cassius Clark celebrates after winning the Oxford 250. (William Sweatt Photo)
Cassius Clark celebrates after winning the Oxford 250. (William Sweatt Photo)

Finally, Cassius Clark Conquers The Oxford 250

OXFORD, Maine – After 14 attempts, Cassius Clark is finally an Oxford 250 winner.

Clark survived challenges from Derek Griffith and Curtis Gerry in the final 50 laps to pick up the victory in the annual super late model major at Oxford Plains Speedway, earning a $25,000 prize plus contingency awards and lap money.

It wasn’t smooth sailing for Clark, who made contact with then leader Eddie MacDonald while battling for the lead. Clark survived the ensuing crash and went on to win the race, though Griffith and Gerry made things difficult.

Griffith was his first challenger, battling with Clark and taking the lead on lap 222 before Clark quickly got the position back. Then it was Gerry, the 2017 race winner, who made Clark’s life difficult in the final laps of the 250-lap affair.

At the end Clark was able to hang on, beating Gerry to the finish line by .131 seconds. Gerry tried to give Clark a bump in turns three and four on the final lap, but Clark held on to collect the victory.

Griffith finished third after challenging for the lead late in the race. Joey Doiron was fourth, with defending race winner Johnny Clark finishing fifth.

The finish:

Cassius Clark, Curtis Gerry, Derek Griffith, Joey Doiron, Johnny Clark, Eddie MacDonald, Dennis Spencer, Trevor Sanborn, Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Bubba Pollard, Brandon Barker, Jeff White, Ben Ashline, Scott Robbins, Kyle DeSouza, Dave Farrington Jr., Scott McDaniel, Dan Winter, Josh Childs, Ryan Robbins, Mike Rowe, Travis Benjamin, Shawn Martin, Rowland Robinson Jr., Derek Kneeland, Scott Moore, Kate Re, Jake Matheson, Justin Larsen, Ben Rowe, Kyle Salemi, Jake Johnson, Joey Pastore, Calvin Rose Jr., Devin O’Connell, Austin Teras, Anthony Constantino, Ryan Moore, T.J. Brackett, Garrett Hall, Tim Brackett, D.J. Shaw, Jeremie Whorff.

error: Content is protected !!