Travis Braden (26) raced to victory in Sunday's JEGS/CRA All Stars Tour event at Lucas Oil Raceway. (Jeremy Thompson Photo)
The JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour schedule for the 2021 season has been released. (Jeremy Thompson Photo)

Braden Untouchable At Lucas Oil Raceway

CLERMONT, Ind. – West Virginia driver Travis Braden dominated at Lucas Oil Raceway to win Sunday’s JEGS/CRA All Stars Tour 100-lap event held during the annual Fall Brawl.

Braden set fast time during qualifications and started in the feature race in the third row. It took only two laps for Braden to climb to the front of the field, which is where he stayed for the rest of the race.

With the victory in the Fall Brawl, Braden has locked himself into the championship finale at Winchester Speedway on Oct. 9. It was Braden’s eighth career win, which moves him into a tie with Daniel Hemric, two behind all-time leader Brian Campbell.

He won by 2.45 seconds over Cody Coughlin and Josh Brock. Braden led 99 of the 100 laps.

“These cars have been phenomenal this year,” Braden said after the victory. “The cars have been awesome.”

Coughlin said for his car, the track surface was slick.

“I hate to come in second, but the crew gave me a good car,” he said.

Brock said with the impounding of the cars after qualifying, the crews are limited in the adjustments that can be made.

“We had a pretty good car, just have to work a little bit harder,” he said.

Brock took the lead from the pole, but before two laps could be completed the red flag waved for a multi-car incident on the front straight.

The day ended for J.P. Crabtree, who had qualified second, with apparent suspension damage and Tyler Hufford, who hit the front straight wall.

On the restart Braden got underneath Brock coming off the fourth corner to take the lead.

On the second restart of the race Coughlin moved from fourth to the second spot with an inside pass of Brock on lap 29 in turn three.

From there Braden opened up nearly a half straight away lead on Coughlin, with Brock a distant third.

Charlie Keevan and Chase Burba, two rookie drivers who moved up from the CRA Jr. Late Model ranks, rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Travis Braden, Cody Coughlin, Josh Brock, Charlie Keeven, Chase Burba, Dakota Stroup, Corey Deuser, Mason Keller, James Kruger, Albert Francis, Trey Craig, Zachary Tinkle, Jonathan Martin, Dylan Bates, Mandy Chick, Colby Lane, Wes Griffith Jr., Brian Demland, Trevor McCoy, J.P. Crabtree, Tyler Hufford. 

error: Content is protected !!