William Byron. (HHP/Jim Fluharty)

William Byron Claims Slinger Nationals

SLINGER, Wis. — William Byron continued his domination of super late model racing this season by winning Tuesday night’s 43rd annual Slinger Nationals at Slinger Super Speedway.

The NASCAR Cup Series regular bided his time while other drivers, including leaders Ty Majeski and Luke Fenhaus fought for the lead during the middle stages of the 200-lap event on the legendary quarter-mile track.

Byron started 12th and steadily worked his way toward the front and was in the right place at the right time to pounce when Majeski and Fenhaus made contact during the closing laps.

Byron zipped into the lead and held off Fenhaus, the defending race winner, to earn the $20,000 triumph in what was the sixth consecutive super late model triumph for Byron and Donnie Wilson Motorsports.

Fenhaus came home second, with Derek Thorn in his first Slinger Nationals appearance, coming home third.

Austin Nason and eight-time Slinger Nationals winner Matt Kenseth rounded out the top five.

The finish:

William Byron, Luke Fenhaus, Derek Thorn, Austin Nason, Matt Kenseth, Stephen Nasse, Jeremy Lepak, Casey Johnson, Jeff Storm, Jacob Nottestad, Alex Prunty, Brad Keith, Ty Majeski, Andrew Morrisey, Ryan Desefano, John Deangelis, Rob Braun, Sammy Smith, Carson Kvapil, Grant Griesbach, Dennis Prunty, Derek Kraus, Kyle Crump, Levon Van Der Geest, Steve Apel, R.J. Braun.