2020 Florence Sc400 Ty Majeski Vl Celebration Brandon Zumbach Photo
Ty Majeski in victory lane at Florence Motor Speedway after winning the inaugural South Carolina 400 last year. (Brandon Zumbach photo)

More Than 50 Entries For Florence’s South Carolina 400

TIMMONSVILLE, S.C. – Florence Motor Speedway will welcome more than 50 entrants this Saturday for the second running of the Charlie Powell Memorial South Carolina 400.

The race, which debuted last year at the four-tenths-mile paved oval, is the spiritual replacement for the Myrtle Beach 400 that was previously held at the now defunct Myrtle Beach (S.C.) Speedway. 

The event will be broadcast live by SPEED SPORT TV affiliate Pit Row TV. Click here for viewing details.

Ty Majeski, a winner in the ARCA Menards Series who recently clinched his fifth ARCA Midwest Tour super late model title, will return to defend his victory from a season ago. Driving for Chad Bryant, Majeski earned $10,000 for his victory in the inaugural event last season.

If he hopes to win the race for the second-straight year, he’ll have to outclass one of the deepest late model stock car fields in the region. The pre-entry list features national, touring and regional stars that are all looking to take home the trophy. 

Headlining the list of challengers for Majeski’s crown is Chad McCumbee, who opened the season with a triumph in the Icebreaker at Florence Motor Speedway. He captured the Icebreaker trophy by besting late model stock car ace Josh Berry, making McCumbee a favorite this weekend.

Another likely contender will be Bobby McCarty, who enters the South Carolina 400 after securing his third CARS Late Model Stock Tour championship in the last four seasons for the Nelson Autosport squad. 

McCarty’s teammate, Nelson Autosport General Manager Timothy Peters, will also be among those to beat Saturday at Florence Motor Speedway. Peters, a multi-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series winner and a two-time ValleyStar Credit Union 300 victor, will look to add the South Carolina 400 to his resume. 

A pair of ARCA contenders – Corey Heim and Sammy Smith – are also on the entry list. Heim, who won multiple races and finished second in the ARCA Menards Series standings this year, is back with Lee Pulliam Performance for the South Carolina 400. 

Smith, who captured the ARCA Menards Series East title for Joe Gibbs Racing this year, enters the South Carolina 400 less than seven days after winning the Florida Governor’s Cup at New Smyrna Speedway last weekend.

Another contender for the victory will likely be Carson Kvapil. The newly crowned CARS Super Late Model Tour champion recently signed with JR Motorsports for next season and will pilot the same No. 8 late model stock car Berry drove to victory last weekend at Goodyear All American Speedway in Jacksonville, N.C., during the Battle of the Stars.

Other pre-entries include Florence Motor Speedway track champion Matt Cox, two-time Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway track champion Ryan Millington, Tri-County Speedway track champion Braden Rogers, NASCAR regular Stefan Parsons and CARS Tour regulars Connor Jones, Justin Johnson and Brandon Pierce.

The full pre-entry list can be found by visiting fmspeedway.com/pre-entry.

In addition to the headlining late model stock car 150-lap race that will close the day of racing Saturday at Florence Motor Speedway, the event will also feature a 100-lap limited late model race, a 50-lap street stock race, 30-lap features for the mini stock and thunder and lightning divisions, a 25-lap Legend car feature and a 15-lap bandolero feature.

error: Content is protected !!