20240215104038 Img 0775
Matt Hirschman, shown earlier this week, won Friday's Richie Evans Memorial at New Smyrna Speedway. (Dick Ayers photo)

Hirschman Gets Fifth World Series Title

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. — Matt Hirschman wrapped up his fifth World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing title with a victory in Friday night’s Richie Evans Memorial at New Smyrna Speedway.

Hirschman took the lead from Ryan Preece on lap 34 and won the 100-lap event by 1.065 seconds over Eric Goodale for his third consecutive victory at the half-mile oval.

Jimmy Blewett, Preece and Anthony Nocella rounded out the top five.

George Phillips won the Hart to Heart 100 for pro late models, while Hunter Wright won the championship in that division.

The finish:

Matt Hirschman, Eric Goodale, Jimmy Blewett, Ryan Preece, Anthony Nocella, Austin Beers, Tommy Catalano, Tyler Rypkema, Craig Lutz, Ronnie Williams, Joey Coulter, Cam McDermott, David Sapienza, Norman Newman, Andrew Krause, Brian Sones, J.R. Bertuccio, Eddie McCarthy, Tom Martino Jr., Landon Huffman, Trevor Catalano, Spencer Davis, Brett Meservey, Teddy Hodgdon.