Parade Lap 15 Schatz,39 Macri, 41 Macedo, 49 Sweet
According to series officials, World of Outlaws drivers earned a record amount of money this season. (Frank Smith photo)

Big-Money Year For WoO Competitors

CONCORD, N.C. — According to World Racing Group officials, a $1 million points fund and a new bonus program  combined with the largest purse payouts in history created record earnings for full-time World of Outlaw NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series teams.

Along with a record-high $200,000 championship payout — and $100,000 payout for the runner-up — sprint car teams also battled for four six-figure paydays at World of Outlaws sanctioned events throughout the season — $100,000 at Huset’s High Bank Nationals, $100,000 at Eldora’s Historical Big One, $175,000 at Eldora’s Kings Royal and $175,000 at the Knoxville Nationals. 

Among the 14 full-time teams (not counting the other 366 competitors), nearly $5 million was amassed among purse payout, points fund, bonus program and tow money.

For the first time in the 45-year history of the World of Outlaws, four full-time operations earned more than a half-million dollars with the Kasey Kahne Racing No. 49 ($595,075) wheeled by series champion Brad Sweet, the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing No. 15 ($582,765), the Big Game Motorsports No. 2 ($545,615) and the Stenhouse Jr. / Marshall Racing No. 17 ($504,525) leading the way.

Beyond the top tier, teams are still earning record numbers throughout the field with nine operations reeling in more than $300,000 this season.

“We continue to strive to not only make sure the fans are getting the most out of a season but our drivers and teams, too,” said World of Outlaws CEO Brian Carter. “We brought record purses and payouts in 2022, on top of introducing a million-dollar bonus program and handed out $1.4 million in the championship points fund at the end of the year. I’m excited about what we have planned for 2023.”

The Jason Johnson Racing No. 41 ($487,565), Shark Racing No. 1s ($433,275), Shark Racing No. 1a ($353,175), Roth Motorsports No. 83 ($345,625) and CJB Motorsports No. 5 ($307,525) were next in line.

Additional earnings included Brock Zearfoss Racing No. 3z ($233,650), Kinser Racing No. 11k ($152,770), Rico Abreu Racing No. 7s ($143,030), Ran-No-Gass Racing No. 20g ($112,125), and Bill Rose Racing No. 6 ($73,750).