Racing at IRP. (Scott Frazier Photo)

USAC Hall Of Fame Inductions Set For Thursday

BROWNSBURG, Ind. – The newest class of USAC Hall of Fame inductees will be officially introduced in a ceremony during this week’s Thursday Night Thunder Homecoming on June 30 at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park.

The racing portion of the event will feature an open wheel racing tripleheader on the .686-mile paved oval with the 500 Sprint Car Tour, the Browns Oil Champion Midgets and the Silver Crown Shootout. The Midget and Silver Crown races are non-points special events under the USAC banner.

USAC’s Hall of Fame ceremony is slated to take place during opening ceremonies prior to the three feature events, which is scheduled to begin at 7:50pm Eastern as the new class of inductees are honored.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will be followed by a 30-lap, $5,000-to-win 500 Sprint Car Tour feature, a 25-lap, 10-car, $2,500-to-win race for the Silver Crown cars and finish up with the midgets going for $5,000 in a 35-lap A-Main.

The United States Auto Club has previously announced its eight inductees into its latest class. The list includes:

• Car owner/mechanic Doug Caruthers

• Driver Jay Drake

• Car owner/mechanic Galen Fox

• Driver Jeff Gordon

• Driver/car owner/builder/innovator Dan Gurney

• Car owner/mechanic Ray Nichels

• Car owner/official/promoter Johnny Vance

• Track owner/promoter Joe Shaheen

Jeff Gordon and representatives for the late Dan Gurney received their Hall of Fame awards during separate ceremonies in 2021.

error: Content is protected !!