Brian Tyler celebrates his victory at DuQuoin (Ill.) State Fairgrounds. (Neil Cavanah photo)

Tyler Eyes 200th Silver Crown Start

ROSSBURG, Ohio — Few racers have reached the 100-start plateau with the USAC Silver Crown National Championship. Even fewer have reached 200 starts in the series.

If all goes according to plan, Brian Tyler will make his 200th career series start Saturday night at Eldora Speedway during the 39th running of the 4-Crown Nationals. He will join Dave Darland (201) and Russ Gamester (200) as the only other drivers to have reached the milestone.

Tyler also enters as the most recent series winner, taking the victory in his 199th career start at the Du Quoin State Fairgrounds on Sept. 6.

By winning in his 199th USAC Silver Crown start, Tyler became the most experienced driver to win a race in the series’ 51-year history, not only in terms of age, but also in career starts at the time of his victory. Tyler broke his own record for winning the deepest into his Silver Crown career.

Brian Tyler at DuQuoin (Neil Cavanah photo)

The Parma, Mich., native previously won in his 170th start at the Illinois State Fairgrounds in 2011. In fact, nine of Tyler’s victories came in his first 100 starts and nine more have come in his second 100, illustrating how he’s been at the top of the game consistently throughout his career in the series, which began in 1990.

Dave Darland, the 1997 series champ, owns the second most wins after his 100th start, trailing only Tyler. A series champion in 1999, Tracy Hines captured six victories after his 100th start.

Five-time champion and point leader Kody Swanson’s win tallying continues to grow with five of his record 33 wins coming after start 100. Now at 115 starts, Swanson’s most recent triumph came in his 114th start at the Illinois State Fairgrounds in August.

Jerry Coons Jr., the 2008 titlist, has won five more races after reaching 100. Two-time champion Jack Hewitt won four times after his 100th Silver Crown race.

Tony Elliott won three times after making his 100th Silver Crown start. 

Three-time champion Jimmy Sills became the first to win on his 100th career Silver Crown start at the Cal Expo State Fairgrounds in 1999. Two-time champ Dave Steele got his final series win in the New Generation Car at Iowa Speedway in 2006. Johnny Parsons became the first driver to own both 100 starts and a series victory after his 1995 score at Du Quoin in his 102nd start.

error: Content is protected !!