Alex Schutte in victory lane Saturday evening at Petaluma Speedway. ( Photo)
Alex Schutte in victory lane Saturday evening at Petaluma Speedway. ( Photo)

Schutte Is A Petaluma Midget Master

PETALUMA, Calif. – After a hard fought battle with Austin Liggett, Alex Schutte sailed to the USAC Western States and BCRA Midget victory at Petaluma Speedway on Saturday evening.

Piloting the Schutte/McElwee No. 28 Proficio/Aircraft Electrical Components Spike, Schutte claimed the non-point West Coast Stock Car Hall of Fame Classic triumph over Liggett, Cory Elliott, fast qualifier Ben Worth, and hard charger C.J. Sarna.

The 30-lap victory marked the ninth career win for the 2010 USAC Western States champion.

Sarna, the 2007 USAC Western Co-Rookie of the Year, earned the night’s Rod End Supply Hard Charger Award/Best Passing Job honors with a fifth-place run from 14th.

Ben Worth opened the night by earning his first career Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award by posting a time of 15.699 seconds over the 19-car roster.

The eight-lap heat race victories went to rookies Scotty Farmer (Extreme Mufflers First Heat) and Brody Fuson (Competition Suspension Incorporated Second Heat), along with Liggett (Ultra Shield Race Products Third Heat).

The finish:

1. Alex Schutte (2), 2. Austin Liggett (4), 3. Cory Elliott (5), 4. Ben Worth (6), 5. C.J. Sarna (14), 6. Terry Nichols (9), 7. Mike Leach Jr. (12), 8. Robert Carson (16), 9. Ben Wiesz (18), 10. Floyd Alvis (17), 11. Frankie Guerrini (13), 12. Brody Fuson (8), 13. Ron Hazelton (15), 14. Scotty Farmer (7), 15. David Prickett (1), 16. Colton Raudman (3), 17. Sparky Howard (10), 18. Brendan Ruzbarsky (11), 19. Blake Bower (19)

error: Content is protected !!