McIntosh Honored
Cannon McIntosh is the winner of the Brady Bacon Baton Award for this year. (Richard Bales photo)

McIntosh Honored With Brady Bacon Baton Award

BROKEN ARROW, Okla. – Cannon McIntosh has been selected as the winner of the fourth annual Brady Bacon Baton Award.

The Brady Bacon Baton Award is chosen each year by Brady Bacon, the three-time and recently-crowned AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series champion.

Annually, Bacon selects a young driver to honor that he sees as a future star in motorsports.

McIntosh, from Bixby, Okla., first burst onto the scene as the Junior Sprints winner at the 2014 Tulsa Shootout. He claimed his first USAC National midget victory indoors during the 2019 Shamrock Classic in DuQuoin, Ill.

McIntosh firmly established his name nationally when he led more than 60 laps in the 2019 Turkey Night Grand Prix before winding up as the runner-up to eventual winner Kyle Larson.

For 2020, McIntosh joined the powerful Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports team to drive a Speedway Toyota-powered Bullet by Spike midget on the USAC trail.

With sponsorship from TRD, Mobil 1, and JBL Audio, in September the 17-year old McIntosh claimed his second NOS Energy Drink USAC National midget Series win with a thrilling last corner pass at the Sweet Springs (Mo.) Motorsports Complex.

Three weeks later, McIntosh scored another USAC National midget win at the quarter-mile Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway.

With three races remaining in the shortened NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series schedule, McIntosh is fifth in the standings, close behind his KKM teammate and 2019 Brady Bacon Baton Award winner Buddy Kofoid.

Previous winners of the Brady Bacon Baton Award are Gio Scelzi (2017), Jason McDougal (2018) and Kofoid (2019).