KKM Inks Buddy Kofoid
Buddy Kofoid. (Brendon Bauman photo)

KKM Inks Buddy Kofoid For Full USAC Season

INDIANAPOLIS – Buddy Kofoid will go full time with Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports in 2020, chasing rookie-of-the-year honors with the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series.

Kofoid has already impressed in his short time with KKM, winning in his very first midget race with the team at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway on Sept. 20.

He ran the entire four-race USAC California Swing in a KKM car as well, earning a best finish of sixth at Ventura (Calif.) Raceway. That result left Kofoid as the second-highest rookie finisher during the Turkey Night Grand Prix, behind only Cannon McIntosh, who will drive a KKM-prepared entry during the upcoming Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals in January.

The 17-year-old won the Fremont (Ohio) Speedway 410 sprint car track championship this season in the Ed Neumeister-owned No. 11n and is looking forward to adding his name to the list of drivers who have wheeled a midget for the 11-time USAC championship team.

“I’m really excited to run for Keith and Pete next year with Keith Kunz Motorsports/Curb-Agajanian,” said Kofoid, who joins fellow rookie teammate Daison Pursley as a USAC full-timer for KKM in 2020. “I’ve always wanted to drive for them, and it’s been a fun experience so far this year. I’m looking forward to doing a lot more next year.

“They have a great reputation and have had some of the best drivers (in the past), so I know I will learn a lot.”

Kofoid joins drivers like Jason Leffler, Cole Whitt, Bryan Clauson, Kyle Larson, Christopher Bell, Rico Abreu, Tanner Thorson, Spencer Bayston and Logan Seavey as a pilot for KKM’s midget squad.

Previous USAC National Midget Series rookies of the years to have come out of the KKM fleet include Darren Hagen, Clauson, Larson, Abreu, Bell, Carson Macedo, Tanner Carrick and Seavey.