Logan Seavey and Kevin Thomas Jr. (9t) at Gas City I-69 Speedway during last year's Indiana Sprint Week opener. (Eli Kaikko photo)

Indiana Sprint Week Opens At Gas City

GAS CITY, Ind. — Last year’s introduction to NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week by AMSOIL at Gas City I-69 Speedway produced one of the wildest finishes in the history of the series, punctuated by a memorable duel between Logan Seavey and Kevin Thomas Jr. that defined the fine line between the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.

Competing for nearly the entirety of the second half of the 30-lap feature side-by-side for the lead, Seavey and Thomas tangled in turn three while working their way past a lapped car on the final lap, sending both of the frontrunners over the turn three cushion. Thomas’ car came to a stop while Seavey motored on without stopping, bent draglink and all.

From thereon, Seavey finished off the victory in a green-white-checkered battle with Chase Stockon to collect his first career ISW victory and enters this Friday night’s Indiana Sprint Week opener undefeated at Gas City in ISW competition, standing one-for-one. 

Gas City I-69 Speedway will host the Indiana Sprint Week opener for the 10th time. The quarter-mile dirt oval has previously hosted the ISW opener in its debut on the schedule 2002 and each year between 2011-’16, then again in 2019-’20.

Seavey is among four past Gas City Indiana Sprint Week winners slated to compete this Friday night along with Stockon, C.J. Leary and Shane Cottle.

Stockon scored the ISW Gas City victory in 2015 and notched another top-flight result a year ago with a runner-up finish. Stockon is the reigning Indiana Sprint Week champ.

Leary, the 2019 Sprint Week titlist, beat the rain to reign victorious during ISW at Gas City in 2017. 

Two-time track champ Cottle is always a threat to win at Gas City during Indiana Sprint Week, and finally broke through in 2019, winning the closest finish ever in USAC National Sprint Car history after starting from the 18th position. 

In fact, over the past two seasons of ISW at Gas City, Cottle has advanced a total of 31 positions in the feature alone. 

Thomas very nearly pulled off his first Gas City ISW victory in 2020, but the 2017 ISW champ has won twice in USAC National Sprint Car competition at GC in both 2013 and 2018. 

Brady Bacon collected a USAC National Sprint car feature win at Gas City in 2015. Bacon is the 2016 Indiana Sprint Week champion.

Justin Grant is the most recent USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature winner at Gas City, scoring a late September 2020 victory. 

Two-time Indiana Sprint Week titlist Chris Windom has a USAC National Sprint Car feature triumph at Gas City in his back pocket, winning in the fall of 2019. 

Scotty Weir got his lone USAC National Sprint Car feature win at Gas City in the spring of 2016. 

Robert Ballou), the 2015 Indiana Sprint Week champ, hasn’t yet won a USAC National Sprint Car feature at Gas City.

Drivers looking for breakout Gas City victories include Brady Short, Thomas Meseraull, Jason McDougal, Kyle Cummins, Carson Short and Matt Westfall.

Gas City’s NOS Energy Drink Indiana Sprint Week by AMSOIL event features the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship vying for the $6,000 winner’s share along with the 600cc Non-Wing Micro Sprints.

error: Content is protected !!