The USAC Sprints in action. (Jack Reitz Photo)

Flooding Forces Texarkana USAC Sprint Cancellation

SPEEDWAY, Ind. — Flooded grounds and heavy rain forecasted for the next several days has forced cancellation of the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship / ASCS Elite Non-Wing Sprint Car Series event at Arkansas’ Texarkana 67 Speedway scheduled for Wednesday night, April 26.

The weeklong trip in the south central U.S. now becomes a three-race tour through Texas this week after a near four-decade absence from The Lone Star State.

First up is the USAC National Sprint Car debut at the three-eighths-mile dirt track at Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas on Thursday, April 27, paying $6,000-to-win.

From there, the series travels to Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas for the first time since 1985. There, the series will compete for two-straight nights starting with Friday night’s $6,000-to-win opener on Friday, April 28. On Saturday night, April 29, the weekend finale concludes with a $10,000-to-win main event at the half-mile Devil’s Bowl dirt oval.

The 2023 USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship season has produced four winners throughout the first four points-paying events: Brady Bacon (Florida’s Bubba Raceway Park), Kyle Cummins (Florida’s Bubba Raceway Park), C.J. Leary (Indiana’s Bloomington Speedway) and reigning series champion Justin Grant (Indiana’s Tri-State Speedway) who currently leads the series standings entering the week.

In ASCS Elite Non-Wing action, Jason Howell (Fort Worth, Texas) leads the series standings after capturing victory in the season opener at Texas’ Kennedale Speedway Park. Kyle Jones (Kennedale, Texas) scored the most recent series feature win at Texas’ Abilene Speedway.