Dsc 1601
Ryan Timms (71k) charges under Cannon McIntosh at Lake Ozark Speedway. (Ken Simon photo)

Timms Tops Lake Ozark POWRi Run

ELDON, Mo. — Ryan Timms would rip the lip at Lake Ozark Speedway’s Spring Sprint and Midget Nationals to earn his second career Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League feature victory in an action-packed 25-lap thriller.

Launching the field on the initial green flag launch would find Timms and Cannon McIntosh battling feverishly into the first pair of corners with Ryan Timms riding the low line momentum to the front of the field to lead the initial lap with Cannon following closely behind.

Swapping the lead nearly every corner on every lap, Timms and McIntosh would put on a dazzling display of driving at the front of the field with Joe B Miller, Bryant Weideman and Taylor Reimer all racing inside the top five.

Restarting after a caution on lap five would bunch the field back together as Cannon McIntosh maintained the front of the pack and was able to spread the distance using an outstanding high-side maneuver with Timms and Reimer trying to run down the leader.

Lapped traffic would plague the leading McIntosh as contact with Emilio Hoover entering the first corners on lap 15 would bring the caution back out on the track with McIntosh involved and giving the lead to Ryan Timms with 10 laps remaining.

Going back green would witness Timms run the point as Taylor Reimer and Joe B Miller attempted to cut into the lead as Jacob Denney and Bryant Weideman battled behind the leading pack.

Stretching to a commanding lead, Timms would set sail with outstanding side-by-side action for second through fifth positions as late-race dramatics entered the picture with a green-white-checkered flag restart.

“This feels great to get back into victory lane, anytime you can get a hard-fought win is fun and I just want to thank everyone involved,” said Timms.

Fending off the late challenges, Timms edged Jacob Denney at the line for the feature win as Reimer placed third with Bryant Weideman racing his way into the fourth finishing position.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 71K-Ryan Timms[1]; 2. 61-Jacob Denney[11]; 3. 25K-Taylor Reimer[6]; 4. 01-Bryant Wiedeman[4]; 5. 40-Chase McDermand[8]; 6. 97-Brenham Crouch[9]; 7. #1-Justin Zimmerman[12]; 8. 44-Branigan Roark[14]; 9. 84-Jade Avedisian[7]; 10. 87-Jace Park[3]; 11. 21-Emilio Hoover[10]; 12. 60E-Mark Billings[16]; 13. 51B-Joe B Miller[5]; 14. 17-Kyle Jones[13]; 15. 08-Cannon McIntosh[2]; 16. 15-Gavin Stout[15]; 17. 89-Todd McVay[17].