Img 1296
Daison Pursley (Richard Bales photo)

Pursley Tops Port City Tussle

TULSA, Okla. — Back in action at Port City Raceway for the second preliminary night of the KKM Giveback Classic presented by MPI, the remaining stout field of 41 competitors from the 82-car field of Lucas Oil POWRi 600cc Outlaw Non-Wing Micros chased Daison Pursley to the checkered flag in the 30-lap event.

Early racing action would find Cole Schroeder setting the fastest qualifying time with a speedy 9.898-second lap.

Fast-paced, adrenaline-pumping feature racing would go green flag racing with Daison Pursley and Christopher Bell flying side-by-side on the initial launch with Bell able to attain the early on-track advantage by running the fastest lap of the feature on the first circuit.

Cruising out to a comfortable lead, Christopher Bell would find the smooth as glass surfaces of Port City Raceway to his liking and appear to be on the way to victory as second-running Pursley started to gain ground on the front-runner.

Trading slide jobs and crossovers at both ends of the speedway for several revolutions Bell and Pursley would swap the lead several times with Pursley eventually gaining space at the front of the field.

Scathing off all challenges including late-race restarts after cautions late in the feature, Daison Pursley would drive away with the victory.  

“I just had to keep my composure when it came racing really close with people and in these Micro races on the prelim night’s it’s tough, but it was really fun running with Christopher and I owe this win to the entire team,” noted Pursley.

Bell stayed within striking distance every inch of the way to place a close runner-up.

Brent Crews would race his way from starting thirteenth to finish third as Jonathan Beason advanced four positions to finish fourth and earn the final automatic lock-in position for Saturday’s main event.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 71P-Daison Pursley[1]; 2. 21-Christopher Bell[2]; 3. 11X-Brent Crews[13]; 4. 2-Jonathan Beason[8]; 5. 11C-Darren Brown[7]; 6. 28Q-Austin Quick[17]; 7. 92-Jake Rosario[21]; 8. 938-Bradley Fezard[22]; 9. 78-Ethan Ayars[3]; 10. 11-Laydon Pearson[18]; 11. 10J-Dominic Gorden[9]; 12. 29-Tanner Thorson[16]; 13. 2A-Austin Wood[19]; 14. 14-Mariah Ede[15]; 15. 1-Brenham Crouch[20]; 16. 5X-Reece Shelton[14]; 17. 36-Kyle Jones[10]; 18. 56-Jace Park[5]; 19. 21S-Steven Snyder JR[6]; 20. 66-Matt Moore[11]; 21. 3-Cole Schroeder[24]; 22. 15-Alex Sewell[12]; 23. 92L-Austin Lambert[4]; 24. 59-Brody Mclaughlin[23]


error: Content is protected !!