Img 0150
Buddy Kofoid en route to victory at Port City Raceway. (Richard Bales photo)

Kofoid Romps From 19th At Port City

TULSA, Okla. — Michael “Buddy” Kofoid picked up where he left off with the series and earned his Keith Kunz team the annual Donnie Ray Crawford Sooner State 55 victory at Port City Raceway on Thursday night.

Kofoid started 19th and charged to his eighth Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League victory of the year.  

On the opening lap of the 55-lap feature, polesitter Cannon McIntosh jumped out to an early lead on the bottom side of the track. McIntosh immediately took command and caught the beginning of the lapped traffic.

With only six laps down, McIntosh tangled with a lapped car and comes to a stop. Tanner Berryhill assumed the lead as the field got brought back to green.

As the drivers settled in for the long run, Berryhill found himself with a big advantage over the rest of the field and continued to grow his lead. Jake Neuman, Ryan Timms, Tanner Thorson, and Christopher Bell slid each other for positions two through five.

Buddy Kofoid Celebrate Port City Sooner State 55 Powri Win 101421
Buddy Kofoid in victory lane. (TWC photo)

After a few cautions bunched back up the field, on a restart Ryan Timms slid Berryhill for the lead and prevailed shortly as they make contact and Timms stopped on the track.

On the restart with 33 laps to go, Berryhill re-assumed the lead with Christopher Bell following in second, Tanner Thorson in third, and Buddy Kofoid in fourth.

Kofoid slowly made his way up to third and then set his sights on the top two. As Berryhill and Bell were battling close for the top spot, Kofoid split them in turns one and two and leaped from third to the point.

As soon as Kofoid found himself in the lead, he never looked back and went on to victory. Bell finished in second, followed by McIntosh, Bryant Wiedeman and Berryhill.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 67-Buddy Kofoid   2. 67W-Christopher Bell   3. 08-Cannon McIntosh   4. 01-Bryant Wiedeman   5. 17-Tanner Berryhill   6. 5-Gavan Boschele   7. 21K-Karter Sarff   8. 71K-Daison Pursley   9. 3N-Jake Neuman   10. 97-Brenham Crouch   11. 71-Kaylee Bryson   12. 26R-Chance Crum   13. 86-Brent Crews  14. 32-Trey Marcham   15. 91T-Tyler Thomas   16. 8J-Jonathan Beason   17. 25-Taylor Reimer   18. 19AZ-Tanner Thorson   19. 11A-Andrew Felker   20. 85T-Ryan Timms   21. 00C-Chase McDermand   22. 83-Dominic Gorden   23. 7U-Kyle Jones   24. 21-Emilio Hoover   25. 44-Branigan Roark  


error: Content is protected !!