Buddy Kofoid en route to victory at I-44 Riverside Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)
Buddy Kofoid en route to victory at I-44 Riverside Speedway. (Richard Bales photo)

Kofoid Grabs First POWRi Midget Prize

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. — Michael “Buddy” Kofoid topped a 58-car field in Saturday’s seventh annual Turnpike Challenge POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League main event at I-44 Riverside Speedway.

The feature action was all over I-44 Riverside Speedway, as front row competitors Jake Neuman and Cannon McIntosh would bring the field of 22 starters to green flags racing as polesitter Neuman would gain the early lead.

McIntosh would strike early though as a pair of cautions would keep the field bunched and give McIntosh all the opportunity he needed, grabbing the lead in a hard-fought battle with Neuman. McIntosh would maintain the lead nearly half the feature as Kofoid mounted a charge through the pack aboard the Keith Kunz Racing No. 67.

With just under ten laps remaining Kofoid would strike on the exit of turn four using a high-to-low maneuver that would gain the lead from inside momentum as the pair crossed by the flag-stand.

Kofoid would hang on to the front position picking up the first POWRi National Midget League feature victory of his career.

“Cannon was good at the top of three and four, so I started to go low and was able to get a run on him,” said the 18-year-old Kofoid. “I’m just glad to get this first one off my back. I can’t thank Keith Kunz Motorsports, Toyota and Mobil One enough for believing in me.  We’ve run well so far in USAC and then in POWRi, but it feels good to get this win.”

Friday night winner Logan Seavey would be among the hunt for the victory in the closing laps finishing in the runner-up position as McIntosh would stay close to the top, rounding out the night’s podium.

Neuman and Daison Pursley would put on displays of driving talents swapping positions and lines lap after lap with Pursley gaining the advantage placing in the fourth position as Neuman placed fifth.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 67 – Michael Kofoid 2. 19az – Logan Seavey 3. 71k – Cannon McIntosh 4. 9 – Daison Pursley 5. 3n – Jake Neuman 6. 35 – Tanner Carrick 7. 32 – Trey Marcham 8. 28 – Ace McCarthy 9. 95 – Chris Andrews 10. 89 – Chris Windom 11. 5 – Kevin Thomas Jr 12. 4 – Robert Dalby 13. 00 – Trey Gropp 14. 3 – Jake Nail 15. 15 – Emerson Axsom 16. 5d – Zach Daum 17. 71 – Kaylee Bryson 18. 82 – Andrew Layser 19. 20b – Brady Bacon 20. 19m – Ethan Mitchell 21. 7m – Chance Morton 22. 44s – Andrew Felker 23. 7x – Thomas Meseraull 24. 4a – Justin Grant





error: Content is protected !!