Brexton Busch (POWRi photo)

Busch Stops Larson In Texas

FORT WORTH, Texas — Brexton Busch was perfect on the night at Lil’ Texas Motor Speedway in the debut action of Christopher Bell’s Micro Mania with the POWRi Jr Sprint League preliminary feature event on Thursday night.

Entering a stout field of 31 competitors in the POWRi Jr. Sprint League at Lil’ Texas Motor Speedway saw Busch set the quickest qualifying time at a 14.324-second lap.

Brexton Busch, Gavin McDonald, Noah Betts, and Jaydon Hiller each would claim heat racing wins with Jagger Wiggs gaining the lone semi-feature victory. 

Riding onto the recently redesigned race track, the high-point qualifier Busch used an inside front-row start to lead outside front-row companion McDonald on the initial laps as Hiller, Owen Larson and Mattix McBride ran inside the top five.

Restarting after a mid-race caution would witness Larson strike to the lead past Busch with McBride following suit into the runner-up spot. Busch regained second with McBride hanging tough in third.

Bunching the field back together after a late restart saw Busch retake the top-spot past a fast-running Larson in an outstanding battle on a smooth-as-glass racing surface.

Busch would maintain the front of the field to notch the first feature victory of the event with onetime leader Larson resulting in a runner-up finish.

“I tried to follow Owen on every lap but just go higher every time and I was able to get the lead back, this win means a lot,” said Busch as the first feature winner at Lil’ Texas Motor Speedway in C. Bell’s Micro Mania with the Jr. Sprints.

In contention among the front-runners all late, Wren notched a solid third from starting 10th with Hiller placing fourth as Kaiden Lane advanced 10 positions to round out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (20 Laps): 1. 18B-Brexton Busch[1]; 2. 81-Owen Larson[5]; 3. 21W-Oakley Wren[10]; 4. 21J-Jayden Hiller[4]; 5. 99L-Kaiden Lane[15]; 6. 14K-Kinser Bloomquist[8]; 7. 22G-Gavin McDonald[2]; 8. 17C-Caleb Johannesen[11]; 9. 97-Cash Lacombe[12]; 10. 71-Jagger Wiggs[17]; 11. 11-Mattix McBride[6]; 12. 55K-Kayden Anderson[18]; 13. 12P-Collin Pruitt[19]; 14. 308-Noah Betts[3]; 15. 23F-Kelson Fisher[14]; 16. 88E-Emery Laplante[16]; 17. 11S-Sawyer McBride[7]; 18. 9-Bristol Spicola[20]; 19. 04-Jude Allgayer[9]; 20. 14JR-Jaxon Nail[13].