49 Sweet
Brad Sweet. (Frank Smith Photo)

Sweet Claims Second 410 Sprint Driver Of The Year Award

TULSA, Okla. – For the second time in three seasons, Brad Sweet was voted Driver of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers. 

Sweet was the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series champion for the third-straight year and racked up 16 of his 17 wins with the series.  Included amongst his wins was the $25,000 Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup at Lernerville. Sweet received 10 of 20 first place ballots cast. Kyle Larson received seven first place votes and David Gravel, Donny Schatz and Brent Marks also received ballot votes in the top spot. 

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, were 2021 Knoxville Nationals champion Larson, Gravel, Schatz and Carson Macedo. 

For the fourth time in its history, Kasey Kahne Racing won the 410 Team of the Year honors after their tremendous season. The win is the second for the No. 49 team.   

Larson was also voted the Wild Card Award winner for the ninth time in his career for his exciting 410 sprint car performances in 2021.   

Ryan Timms was selected as the Rookie of the Year in the 410 class after a successful campaign in sprint cars. The Oklahoma City teen was also Rookie of the Year in the 360 class. 

Steve O’Neal of Port Royal Speedway earned Promoter of the Year honors for the sixth time in a row.   

Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors in the 410 poll will go to Dan and Ron Musselman of Maxim Racing, Inc. for the second time.

The Media Member of the Year Award went to Brian Dunlap of DIRTVision. It is his second award in the category. 

Two deserving recipients will receive the Thomas J. Schmeh Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Sport, the highest honor in the North American Sprint Car Poll. The first is Tod Quiring, the owner of the Jackson Motorplex in Minnesota and Huset’s Speedway in Brandon, S.D.. The purchase of Huset’s came after a four-year layoff for the track.   

Long-time World of Outlaws Series Director Carlton Reimers will also be honored. Reimers started his World of Outlaws tenure under the series founder Ted Johnson. The 2021 season marked Reimers’ 30th year with the tour.

error: Content is protected !!