Giovanni Scelzi. (Paul Arch Photo)

Scelzi Banks $50,000 In Lakeside High Limit Opener

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Giovanni Scelzi scored the biggest prize of his career Tuesday night, as the High Limit Sprint Car Series opened its season with Shane Stewart’s Heartland of America Showdown presented by Trackhouse Tuesday night at Lakeside Speedway.

The California driver earned $50,000 after starting ninth and inheriting the lead from Rico Abreu, who had a right rear tire go down with five laps to go.

Fellow World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series competitor Carson Macedo charged from 22nd to second.

Polesitter Tyler Courtney paced the field to begin the 30-lap event, with Spencer Bayston, David Gravel, Donny Schatz and Abreu all chasing the 25-year-old. 

Though the first caution flag came out with eight laps complete, as Ian Madsen, Scott Bogucki and Conner Morrell were involved in a crash right in front of leader Courtney. Fortunately for “Sunshine,” he came away unscathed. 

On the ensuing restart, Abreu made short work of leader Courtney, Bayston and Schatz to shoot to the lead. 

Another restart wouldn’t slow Abreu’s pace, as the 31-year-old continued to dominate past halfway. However, heartbreak came in the closing laps with a flat tire. 

From there, Scelzi would surge in the final laps, hanging on to win at the four-tenths-mile dirt track.

Co-promoters Kyle Larson and Brad Sweet finished fifth and 12th, respectively. 

Earlier in the evening, Jake Neuman was transported to a nearby hospital following a crash in turn three during qualifying. Neuman’s mother posted an update on his Facebook page Tuesday night.

“Jake is in the ICU and he is stable. The doctor said they are going to keep him overnight and run tests again tomorrow.”

SPEED SPORT will have an update on Neuman when it becomes available.  

The series is back in action on April 25 at Iowa’s 34 Raceway. 

Feature Results (30 Laps)

1. 18-Giovanni Scelzi[9]; 2. 41-Carson Macedo[22]; 3. 7BC-Tyler Courtney[1]; 4. 2-David Gravel[12]; 5. 57-Kyle Larson[16]; 6. 1S-Logan Schuchart[14]; 7. 5-Spencer Bayston[5]; 8. 15-Donny Schatz[2]; 9. 21-Brian Brown[18]; 10. 39M-Anthony Macri[4]; 11. 71-Cory Eliason[6]; 12. 49-Brad Sweet[8]; 13. 13-Justin Peck[17]; 14. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg[26]; 15. 11-Michael Kofoid[15]; 16. 55B-Alex Bowman[25]; 17. 39-Justin Sanders[13]; 18. 29-Parker Price Miller[11]; 19. 2MD-Conner Morrell[21]; 20. 88-Austin McCarl[7]; 21. 14T-Tim Estenson[19]; 22. 24-Rico Abreu[3]; 23. 9R-Chase Randall[27]; 24. 19-Brent Marks[23]; 25. 21H-Brady Bacon[10]; 26. 25-Scott Bogucki[20]; 27. 2KS-Ian Madsen[24]