2024 06 11 Hilltop Fast Danny Sams Iii Paul Arch Photo (132)a
Danny Sams in victory lane at Hilltop Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

Sams Rides The Cushion To Hilltop Glory

MILLERSBURG, Ohio — There’s the top side of a race track and then there’s the very top side of the race track.

Danny Sams III utilized the very top of Hilltop Speedway to earn the biggest sprint car win of his career on night five of the 42nd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek with the Ti-22 Performance FAST On Dirt Series Tuesday night.


Australian Brock Hallett led the first 13 laps of the 30-lap affair before a spirited battle began involving Hallett, Greg Wilson and third starter Sams.

Wilson drove the bottom line to steal the lead from Hallett on lap 14, only to see Sams blast by both to regain the top spot a lap later. Sams flirted with disaster lap after lap, inches from the guardrail and drove to his first victory of Ohio Sprint Speedweek.

“This is the biggest win of my career,” Sams said. “We were finally able to finish a night off the right way. We’ve been fast all week but just couldn’t get the end result and tonight we were able to do that. I can’t thank my mom and dad enough for all the work they do for me and my car owner Rocky Anderson giving me the chance to do this. It takes luck, hard work and a lot of sacrifice. I’m truly blessed.”

Wilson came home second to score his second podium finish of Speedweek followed by Ohio Sprint Speedweek point leader Cap Henry, 15th-starter Kalib Henry and Philo.

The 42nd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek heads to Sharon Speedway Wednesday.

The finish:

Danny Sams, Greg Wilson, Cap Henry, Kalib Henry, Travis Philo, Cale Thomas, Brock Hallet, Zane Devault, Jordyn Charge, Scotty Thiel, Devon Borden, Lee Jacobs, Tim Shaffer, Dylan Norris, Ricky Peterson, Henry Malcuit, Sterling Cling, Riley Goodno, Creek Kemenah, Conner Morrell, Darin Naida, Max Stambaugh, Trey Jacobs, Jake Hesson.