2024 05 24 Atomic Woo Danny Sams Iii Paul Arch Photo (79)a
Danny Sams III (Paul Arch photo)

Sams Gets Another One In Ohio Speedweek Finale

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Danny Sams III put a huge exclamation point on the 42nd annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek, leading all 35 laps for a $10,000 pay day at Atomic Speedway Saturday.

The biggest victory of his career, it was his third triumph during the nine-day tour of the Buckeye State.


“Wow to say the least. We came into this week just hoping we would make it to every night,” Sams said. “My parents and I worked so hard this week and…wow, what a reward. I’m not sure what I think but wow! This is everything and more we could ask for. This car has ran so good all week. I’m so blessed to be in this position and have an amazing car owner like Rocky. Thank you to everyone that makes this possible and all glory to God.”

While Sams, from North Port, Fla., celebrated the victory, Republic, Ohio’s Cap Henry scored another podium finish, right behind Sams, to lock up the 2024 Ohio Sprint Speedweek championship.

Henry only finished out of the top five once in the eight contested A-mains during Speedweek. He scored wins at Attica Raceway Park and Millstream Speedway.

“Our nose wing fell down there so we had nothing for Danny. He’s been fast all week,” Henry said. “I’m happy with what we accomplished to pull off the Ohio Speedweek championship…it’s something I always wanted to do. I’m just super happy for Zack and Jeff and Gary and Chris and Chad…everyone involved in this deal…Erin and Dana. It means a lot to do this. I know it’s not the All Star deal any more but it’s still means something to win an Ohio Speedweek championship.”

At the drop of the green Sams, who set fast time during qualifications – the fourth time he accomplished that during the week – bolted into the lead with Henry, Cole Duncan and Skylar Gee in tow.

Two quick cautions on laps three and four kept the field close, but once the green flew the race settled into a long green flag run.

Sams built up a huge lead before hitting lapped traffic on lap 12 of the 35-lap affair. Henry closed slightly while a tremendous battle ensued for third involving Duncan, Gee and a charging Greg Wilson.

At the halfway point Henry was right on the rear bumper of Sams who was having issues with a pair of lapped cars racing side by side right in front of him.

Sams executed a great move on lap 29 to finally get by the two lapped cars and pulled away until the final caution flew on lap 31. Sams blasted the top side of Atomic on the restart and pulled away for the win over Henry, Gee, Wilson (from 11th) and Duncan.

The finish:

Feature (35 Laps): 1. 24D-Danny Sams III[1]; 2. 33W-Cap Henry[2]; 3. 99-Skylar Gee[4]; 4. W20-Greg Wilson[11]; 5. 22-Cole Duncan[3]; 6. 4-Zane DeVault[9]; 7. 5T-Travis Philo[6]; 8. 48-Danny Dietrich[12]; 9. 2S-Ricky Peterson[7]; 10. 17-Dylan Norris[16]; 11. 19H-Joel Myers Jr[19]; 12. 10X-Reese Nowotarski[15]; 13. 28M-Conner Morrell[10]; 14. 2-Nathan Skaggs[8]; 15. 32L-Bryce Lucius[5]; 16. 5AU-Brock Hallett[17]; 17. X-Mike Keegan[23]; 18. 23-Cale Thomas[14]; 19. 34-Sterling Cling[21]; 20. 79M-Max Guilford[20]; 21. 4S-Danny Smith[18]; 22. 11N-Kasey Jedrzejek[13]; 23. 81-Lee Jacobs[22]; 24. 56R-Ryan Myers[24]