Image0 (1) (1)
Anthony Macri in victory lane at Port Royal Speedway.

Macri Lands $22,000 Port Royal Prize

PORT ROYAL, Pa. — The night started with a big announcement courtesy of Sandy Kline from J&S Classics that the Weikert Livestock 410 A-main event would pay $22,000 instead of the scheduled $5,000-to-win in memory of her husband Jim Kline.

The A-main saw Logan Wagner and Brent Marks make up the front row for the 25-lap event with Anthony Macri and Justin Whittall making up row two.

Wagner led the opening 13 circuits of the race before problems slowed the No. 69k to halt on the backstretch and gave Marks the lead.


On the ensuing restart, Macri would attempt to put a slider on Marks in turn one, but Marks was able to drive back by for the lead.

On the next lap, Macri would attempt another slider into one and would get it to stick for the lead with 10 laps remaining.

Macri would open his lead to over a second in the waning laps of the race, but with three laps to go, Brent Marks came to life and started to track down Macri for the win.

With the white flag thrown, Marks followed Macri through the first set of corners and carry the momentum to pull alongside for the lead going into turns three and four when the caution flag would wave for a slowing Michael Walter on the frontstretch.

With a one-lap shootout for the win, Macri powered off to a great start and claimed the Jim Kline Tribute race title and $22,000.

“We drove over 19 and a half hours from Huset’s to be here tonight for Sandy and this race,” said Macri in victory lane. “This is the cherry on top for this team and for her.

“I’ve known Jim and Sandy since I was a really little kid. She used to tease me and Jim was just an amazing guy and everything he did was well respected.”

Marks would hold on for the runner up finish worth $5,000 and Chase Dietz would round out the podium.

In Selinsgrove Ford super late model competition, Rick Eckert would lead from flag to flag for the $4,000 win in a different car than what fans would be used to seeing him in.

Eckert would drive the Jacob Julius No. 5 for the night after a grueling Appalachian Mountain Super Late Model Speedweek would see him run out of motors after his would break at Lincoln Speedway a week ago.

“I was going to work on Jacob’s car this week, and I called him up and asked him if he planned on racing this weekend,” said Eckert after the race, “He said no. So, I asked him if I could and he said yeah!”

The finish:

Feature (25 laps): 1. 39M-Anthony Macri[3]; 2. 19-Brent Marks[2]; 3. 1-Chase Dietz[5]; 4. 67-Justin Whittall[4]; 5. 12-Blane Heimbach[10]; 6. 5-Dylan Cisney[6]; 7. 35-Austin Bishop[7]; 8. M1-Mark Smith[14]; 9. 12D-Lance Dewease[18]; 10. 55-Mike Wagner[11]; 11. 11-TJ Stutts[8]; 12. 5W-Lucas Wolfe[13]; 13. 33-Gerard McIntyre Jr[9]; 14. 17B-Steve Buckwalter[20]; 15. 11T-Mike Thompson[21]; 16. 17K-Kyle Keen[17]; 17. 77-Michael Walter[19]; 18. 24-Dustin Baney[24]; 19. 69K-Logan Wagner[1]; 20. 33H-Derek Hauck[15]; 21. 99-Devin Adams[22]; 22. 95-Garrett Bard[12]; 23. 11Z-Zach Newlin[23]; 24. 45-Jeff Halligan[16]; 25. (DNS) 69X-Kassidy Kreitz; 26. (DNS) 55S-Chris Smith; 27. (DNS) 2C-Vince Snyder; 28. (DNS) 10-Jake Waters