Img 0888
Anthony Macri (39) won Thursday's All Star feature at Port Royal Speedway. (Dan Demarco photo)

Macri Is Port Royal All Star Master

PORT ROYAL, Pa. — Anthony Macri remains perfect with the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 at Port Royal Speedway this season.

Macri won Thursday night’s preliminary feature for the Tuscarora 50, earning $8,000 for his 19th overall victory of the season. Macri battled past Bill Balog on lap eight and never looked back.

The non-stop 30-lapper would give little trouble to the now seven-time All Star winner this season, as Macri weaved through waves of traffic with ease while keeping eventual runner-up Danny Dietrich at bay.

Fading to third just after the initial start, then getting by Dietrich on lap five, Macri’s eventual winning move occurred through corners one and two, diving below Balog as the pair entered the corner then pulling ahead of the Anderson’s Maple Syrup No. 17 at the midpoint of the backstretch.

Dietrich followed Macri’s lead, also scooting by Balog just two circuits later. Dietrich did all he could to keep up with Macri’s pace, but his efforts fell short, falling to a margin of nearly four seconds.

“I kinda wanted to play the beginning of that race a little calm and cool. Balog and Dietrich go out there pretty far…I figured they’re going for it, so I may as well go for it, too,” Macri said. “I pushed the issue a little bit harder…still driving smart and not blowing the tires off of it…here we are.”

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39M-Anthony Macri [2]; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich [4]; 3. 1-Logan Wagner [7]; 4. 13-Justin Peck [3]; 5. 55W-Mike Wagner [6]; 6. 67-Justin Whittall [10]; 7. 18-Gio Scelzi [5]; 8. 24-Rico Abreu [18]; 9. 69K-Lance Dewease [17]; 10. 19M-Brent Marks [13]; 11. 17B-Bill Balog [1]; 12. 5C-Dylan Cisney [21]; 13. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [20]; 14. 21-Brian Brown [11]; 15. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [8]; 16. 8-Freddie Rahmer [12]; 17. 11-Cory Eliason [9]; 18. 23-Devon Borden [14]; 19. 33M-Gerard McIntyre [19]; 20. 3-Ayrton Gennetten [16]; 21. 12-Blane Heimbach [25]; 22. 33W-Michael Walter [22]; 23. 42-Sye Lynch [15]; 24. 91-Kyle Reinhardt [23]; 25. 4-Cap Henry [24]