2023 05 16 Wayne County High Limit Kyle Larson Chase Randall Paul Arch Photo Dsc 3036 (15)a
Kyle Larson (57) charges past Chase Randall at Wayne County Speedway. (Paul Arch photo)

Larson Controls High Limit Run For $33,023

ORRVILLE, Ohio — Tuesday night’s High Limit Sprint Car Series event at Wayne County Speedway provided some tremendous sprint car racing, but for the most part it all happened behind race winner Kyle Larson.

Larson started third and moved past front row starters Chase Randall and Justin Sanders to lead early in the event and was in control throughout the 35-lap Sheldon Haudenschild’s High Limit Buckeye Brawl presented by DAC Pet Products.

Despite several late-race red flags after competitors, including Tyler Courtney, Chase Randall and Hunter Schuerenberg, were victimized by a tricky cushion on the three-eighths-mile track, Larson kept Paul Silva’s No. 57 ahead of the field to earn the $33,023 top prize.

It was his Larson’s victory in four High Limit events.

Meanwhile, while Larson set the pace, a collection of drivers, including event co-promoter Sheldon Haudenschild tussled for positions two through five.

2023 05 16 Wayne County High Limit Kyle Larson Paul Arch Photo Dsc 3036 (42)a
Kyle Larson (Paul Arch photo)

Haudenschild had made his way to third with 11 laps remaining and looked poised to challenge Larson following a restart.

“I could hear the crowd chanting Sheldon’s name under the red and I got a little scared,” Larson said after the race.

Despite a roller-coaster ride from the lead back as far as sixth, Sanders brought Kevin Swindell’s No. 39 home in second place, while Justin Peck edged Brian Brown, who charged from 25th on the grid, to finish fourth.

Rico Abreu came home fifth.

Larson was fast qualifier for the 54-car field with a lap of 14.509 seconds.

The finish:

Kyle Larson, Justin Sanders, Justin Peck, Brian Brown, Rico Abreu, Chris Windom, Aaron Reutzel, Brent Marks, Sheldon Haudenschild, James McFadden, Danny Dietrich, Brandon Spithaler, Brady Bacon, Cole Macedo, Anthony Macri, Michael Kofoid, Parker Price-Miller, Sye Lynch, Ryan Timms, Chase Randall, Tyler Gunn, Tyler Courtney, Cory Eliason, Hunter Schuerenberg, Scott Thiel, Blake Hahn.