9zm 4486
Kyle Larson (57) battles Tyler Courtney Thursday night at Atomic Speedway. (Mike Campbell photo)

Larson Banks $10,000 All Star Prize

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Kyle Larson picked up his first sprint car victory of the season in Thursday night’s The Night The Stars Come Out event at Atomic Speedway.

Larson claimed the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions main event in what was only his third sprint car race of the season.

Taking command just before the midpoint of the 30-lap program and never looking back, the Elk Grove, Calif., native, earned $10,000 for his 28th career All Star victory.

Larson outdueled two-time and reigning All Star champion Tyler Courtney for his second victory in as many races at the three-eighths-mile dirt track.

Larson, aboard his Folkens Brothers Trucking/Finley Farms No. 57 sprint car, took control officially on lap 13, sliding “Sunshine” and cutting the corner between turns one and two. The pair raced even at the flagstand just before Larson made his winning move; Courtney was stalled behind a slower lapped car which allowed Larson to close.

9zm 4492
Kyle Larson (Mike Campbell photo)

A caution on the final circuit created some slight drama for the former NASCAR Cup Series champion, but the one-lap dash proved to be no contest.

Courtney held on to finish second, followed by Rico Abreu, Parker Price-Miller and third-starting Cale Thomas.

“This win means a lot. I love coming to Atomic Speedway. It’s a great track and it’s always elbows up,” Larson noted. “Our car was really good for the feature. With a guy like Tyler Courtney starting up front, you have to be aggressive. I was trying to be patient and I felt like we were pretty even. I was fortunate to get a run and clear him. Cautions fell my way but I was still forced to throw some bombs in traffic. Just a great effort by everyone involved.”

Courtney led the first 12 laps before surrendering the lead to Larson.

“I just got caught,” Courtney said. “One mistake and a guy like Kyle Larson is going to capitalize. But, we’re still second. We’ve had great cars all year long. Hopefully now we can build some momentum and keep this rhythm going.”

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson [2]; 2. 7BC-Tyler Courtney [1]; 3. 24-Rico Abreu [6]; 4. 29-Parker Price Miller [10]; 5. 91-Cale Thomas [3]; 6. 19M-Brent Marks [11]; 7. 45-Tim Shaffer [4]; 8. 69K-Lance Dewease [22]; 9. 55-Hunter Schuerenberg [9]; 10. 22C-Cole Duncan [15]; 11. 5T-Travis Philo [18]; 12. 29M-Cole Macedo [16]; 13. 33W-Cap Henry [5]; 14. 4-Chris Windom [12]; 15. 5J-Jake Hesson [19]; 16. 26-Zeb Wise [8]; 17. 4S-Danny Smith [23]; 18. 99-Skylar Gee [7]; 19. 101-Kraig Kinser [17]; 20. 5-Ryan Timms [20]; 21. 52-Blake Hahn [24]; 22. 97-JJ Hickle [21]; 23. 19P-Sean Rayhall [14]; 24. A79-Brandon Wimmer