Unnamed (49)
The No. 11j of Joey Starnes took the feature win at Jefferson County Speedway. (Kristy McDougal photo)

Kuykendall, Starnes and Nunley Top NOW600 Action

FAIRBURY, Neb. — Wrapping up the F-Town Tooleys Showdown at Jefferson County Speedway on Saturday, the third night of Nebraska Micro Week saw 116 entries taking on the Lucas Oil National Open Wheel Series, with wins going to Tyler Kuykendall, Joey Starnes and Jett Nunley.

After trailing the No. 38k of Jackson Kounkel through the opening 11 laps, his hard contact into the wall brought the No. 11j of Starnes to the race lead. Though he tried to hold onto second, damage to Kounkel’s car finally forced him to retire.

Starnes extended his lead to nearly two seconds, but a pair of cautions with three and then two laps to go brought Frank Flud to Starnes back bumper. However, Starnes would not see a challenge and won by 0.956-seconds.

The runner-up spot stayed in the hands of Flud, with Garrett Benson stealing the show position coming to the checkered flag. Elijah Gile finished fourth and the top five rounded out with Kuykendall.

Coming in with two Restricted wins to his name in 2019 and 2020, Missouri’s Kuykendall added his name to a new list of winners with Saturday’s win in Non-Wing. He was runner-up through the first four laps, then the lead was passed to Kuykendall after the right rear wheel and tire came off Darren Brown’s No. 11.

Kuykendall was chased by Chris Cochran through the rest of the feature, but despite the No. 3w making a last lap charge, Kuykendall held him off by 0.265-seconds at the line.

J.J. Loss made it from eighth to third with Brecken Reese fourth.

Charging from 15th, the No. 1j of Cameron Paul made it to fifth.

The only repeat winner during Nebraska Micro Week was Oklahoma’s Nunley, who captured the win in Restricted.

In his 14th time to top the division, the No. 33 was unstoppable once he got the lead in traffic from Garyn Howard on lap 10. Nunley pulled away to a 2.156-second advantage at the finish.

Haidyn Hanson took second with Garyn Howard ending up third. Cale Lagroon and Landon Jesina made the top five.

The full finish:

Winged Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11J-Joey Starnes[2]; 2. 81-Frank Flud[4]; 3. 2B-Garrett Benson[7]; 4. 13-Elijah Gile[3]; 5. 8K-Tyler Kuykendall[6]; 6. 11-Darren Brown[8]; 7. 67J-JJ Loss[16]; 8. 72-Alex Karpowicz[9]; 9. 3-Cale Coons[11]; 10. 57T-Kyle Thompson[12]; 11. 81AU-Dekota Gay[19]; 12. 35-Gaige Weldon[13]; 13. 7A-Aaron Jesina[15]; 14. 33-Jett Nunley[20]; 15. 21-Keegan Osantowski[21]; 16. 1F-Jason Friesen[18]; 17. 91-Jaxon Brenning[5]; 18. 20Q-Brecken Reese[14]; 19. 78-Ethan Ayars[17]; 20. 38K-Jackson Kounkel[1]; 21. 11D-Dominic White[10]

Stock Non-Wing Feature (25 Laps): 1. 8K-Tyler Kuykendall[3]; 2. 3W-Chris Cochran[5]; 3. 67J-JJ Loss[8]; 4. 20Q-Brecken Reese[6]; 5. 1J-Cameron Paul[15]; 6. 26-Corbin Rueschenberg[12]; 7. 3-Cale Coons[10]; 8. 72-Alex Karpowicz[4]; 9. 22-Jesse Pate[20]; 10. 17-Talon McConnell[18]; 11. 66-Jayden Clay[19]; 12. 19X-Marcus Kennedy[16]; 13. 2F-Jadyn Friesen[17]; 14. 17E-Kaylee Esgar[11]; 15. 38K-Jackson Kounkel[2]; 16. 38-Riley Osantowski[21]; 17. 11J-Joey Starnes[9]; 18. 7J-Jacob Latta[13]; 19. 11-Darren Brown[1]; 20. 81-Frank Flud[7]; 21. 47-Cory Kelley[14]

Restricted Feature (25 Laps): 1. 33-Jett Nunley[5]; 2. 319-Haidyn Hansen[3]; 3. GH7-Garyn Howard[1]; 4. 24C-Cale Lagroon[6]; 5. 5L-Landon Jesina[2]; 6. 59-Evan Semerad[4]; 7. 4G-Landon Gasseling[9]; 8. 10S-Scout Spraggins[10]; 9. 18K-Keegan Gasseling[7]; 10. 8Z-Kasen Zorn[12]; 11. B2-Carson Bolden[16]; 12. 45-Bradley Cox[14]; 13. 1-KC Sparks[15]; 14. 22-Remmi Butolph[20]; 15. 87C-Callan Hill[13]; 16. 7G-Ollie Geiger[19]; 17. 30-Kyler Bearce[11]; 18. P24-Aiden Howard[17]; 19. 27-Luke Samuelson[18]; 20. 63-Jack Thomas[8]

error: Content is protected !!