Donny Schatz earned a runner-up finish in the Capitani Classic earlier this week. (Frank Smith Photo)

Knoxville Nationals Preview: Wednesday

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The 61st NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals kicks off Wednesday night at the historic Knoxville Raceway with a field of heavy hitters led by 10-time race winner Donny Schatz.

Schatz and the other 51 drivers scheduled for Wednesday’s program will be chasing points in the traditional and unique Knoxville Nationals points system that awards points each time a driver hits the track.

The top drivers in points through the two qualifying nights are locked into the front eight rows for Saturday’s 50-lap, $175,000-to-win main event.

Schatz, who drives the familiar Tony Stewart Racing No. 15, hasn’t won the Nationals since 2017. He finished second in Sunday’s Capitani Classic at the half-mile track.

David Gravel, who won the 2019 Knoxville Nationals is also scheduled to run Wednesday, aboard the Big Game Motorsports No. 2.

Pennsylvania traveler Brent Marks, who won the Kings Royal and Historical Big One at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway as well as a World of Outlaws feature at Knoxville earlier this year, is also in Wednesday’s field.

Logan Schuchart, who won the Capitani Classic and finished second in the 2019 Nationals, will be aboard the No. 1s Shark Racing entry, while Sheldon Haudenschild, a winner of eight World of Outlaws features, this season, will steer the familiar No. 17 Stenhouse Marshall Racing machine.

Other World of Outlaws regulars competing Wednesday include Brock Zearfoss, James McFadden and Robbie Price

Knoxville Raceway regulars Ian Madsen, Justin Henderson, 360 Nationals winner Aaron Reutzel, Terry McCarl are also scheduled for Wednesday, with All Star Circuit of Champions contenders Parker Price-Miller, Justin Peck, Cory Eliason and Hunter Schuerenberg also in action.

California invaders Gio Scelzi, Shane Golobic, Justin Sanders and Corey Day, four-time USAC sprint car champion Brady Bacon and ASCS champion Blake Hahn are also scheduled.

Wednesday’s main event pays $12,000 to win.

1au      Marcus Dumesny        Sydney, Australia

1m       Don Droud Jr.               Lincoln, Neb.

1s        Logan Schuchart         Hanover, Pa.

1x        Jake Bubak                   Arvada, Colo.

2          David Gravel                Watertown, Conn.

2c        Wayne Johnson          Tuttle, Okla.

2kk      Kevin Ingle                    Huron, S.D.

2ks       Ian Madsen                  St. Marys, Australia

2m       Davey Heskin               St. Michael, Minn.

3          Ayrton Gennetten        Gravois Mills, Mo.

3p        Sawyer Phillips            Pleasantville, Iowa

3z        Brock Zearfoss            Jonestown, Pa.

6b        Brandon Wimmer        Fairmount, Ind.

7          Justin Henderson        Tea, S.D.

7s        Robbie Price                 Cobble Hill, British Columbia

7w       Dustin Selvage             Indianaola, Iowa

8          Aaron Reutzel              Clute, Texas

9jr        Derek Hagar                Marion, Ark.

10        Skylar Prochaska         Lakefield, Minn.

11        Roger Crockett             Broken Arrow, Okla.

11m     Parker Price-Miller       Kokomo, Ind.

13        Justin Peck                   Monrovia, Ind.

13jt      Mark Dobmeier            Grand Forks, N.D.

14        Corey Day                     Clovis, Calif.

14m     Cole Macedo                Lemoore, Calif.

15        Donny Schatz               Fargo, N.D.

16a      Colby Copeland           Rocklin, Calif.

17        Sheldon Haudenschild   Wooster, Ohio

17c      Carson Short                Marion, Ill.

17w     Shane Golobic              Rocklin, Calif.

18        Gio Scelzi                      Fresno, Calif.

19        Brent Marks                  Myerstown, Pa.

20        A.J. Moeller                  Rockwell City, Iowa

21h      Brady Bacon                 Winchester, Ind.

22        Riley Goodno                Knoxville, Iowa

24        Terry McCarl                 Altoona, Iowa

24w     Garet Williamson          Kingdom City, Mo.

39        Justin Sanders             Aromas, Calif.

40        Clint Garner                  Sioux Falls, S.D.

45        Rusty Hickman             Bendigo, Victoria

49j       Josh Schneiderman     W. Burlington, Iowa

52        Blake Hahn                    Sapulpa, Okla.

55        Hunter Schuerenberg  Avon, Ind.

55t       McKenna Haase           Des Moines, Iowa

55w     Mike Wagner                 Harrisonville, Pa.

65        Jordan Goldesberry     Springfield, Ill.

71        Cory Eliason                   Visalia, Calif.

73        Scotty Thiel                   Sheboygan, Wis.

83        James McFadden        Warrnambool, Australia

84        Scott Bogucki               McLaren Vale, Australia

91        Kyle Reinhardt               Abbottstown, Pa.

101      Lachlan McHugh           Gold Coast, Australia

Unnamed 1

error: Content is protected !!