Img 9660
Blake Hahn (Richard Bales photo)

Hahn Named 360 Sprint Car Driver Of The Year

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Blake Hahn was voted the Driver of the Year by the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers assembled by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum. 

It is a first-time honor for Hahn, who was champion of the American Sprint Car Series in 2021. Among Hahn’s seven wins with the series was the Short Track Nationals at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock in October.  

Hahn received eight of the 15 first-place votes cast. Others receiving first-place votes included five-time 360 Driver of the Year Sam Hafertepe Jr. (2), Skagit Dirt Cup winner Dominic Scelzi, Selinsgrove Speedway champ Mark Smith, California’s Justin Sanders, USCS titlist Danny Smith and Chase Randall. 

In addition, the Blake Hahn Racing No. 52 team earned Team of the Year honors in the poll. 

Those drivers ranked second through fifth in the poll, respectively, are 13-time feature winner Scelzi, Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial and Devil’s Bowl Winternationals winner J.J. Hickle, 11-time winner, Mark Smith and Sanders, who picked up 14 wins.  

Rounding out the top 10 were six-time winner Dylan Westbrook, ASCS Speedweek champ Ryan Timms, Hafertepe, Smith and four-time ASCS winner Matt Covington.   

Timms was a unanimous choice for the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll Rookie of the Year title in his first full season of winged 360-cubic-inch sprint car competition.  

Jack and Bonnie Elam of J&J Auto Racing (their 17th poll award) earned Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors.  In addition, ASCS’s Bryan Hulbert will receive the Media Member of the Year Award for the first time.   

Terry Mattox (ASCS-Sooner) and Scott Russell (Sprint Car Challenge Tour/Placerville Speedway) will both receive Promoter of the Year honors. It will be Russell’s second award in that category. 

Timms will also receive the Wild Card Award for 2021 for his exciting performances on the way to 20 wins in 360 sprint car racing.

error: Content is protected !!