Derek Hagar (USCS photo)

Derek Hagar Sweeps USCS Speedweek

MERIDIAN, Miss. — Derek Hagar made history Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park by winning his sixth consecutive United Sprint Car Series Speedweek race. 

It was the first time in the 18-year history of the USCS Speedweek that a driver won every race.

Hager’s five previous 2023 USCS Speedweek wins came on May 26 at Lexington (Tenn.) 104 Speedway on May 26, Riverside Int’l Speedway in West Memphis, Ark., on May 27,  Old No. 1 Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark., on May 28, Thursday night at North Alabama Speedway in Tuscumbia, Ala., and on Friday night at Hattiesburg Speedway in Hattiesburg, Miss.
Koty Adams finished second and third went to Dale Howard. 

Hayden Martin took the fourth spot and 14-time USCS champion Terry Gray was fifth.

Adams took the lead at the drop of the green flag,  followed by Hagar, who started on the outside of row one, Dale Howard, Chase Howard, and Gray.  Chase Howard dropped off the pace and pulled to the infield on lap three.

The first of three caution flags came out on lap five when Michael Miller of Pascagoula, MS spun in turn four. Hagar went to work on the restart, passed Adams for the lead, and never looked back.  The second caution flag came out on lap eight when Whittington hit the fourth turn wall while running sixth. Hagar led Adams, Dale Howard, Gray and Martin down for the restart.    

Martin moved up to challenge Gray for the fourth spot, and took the position on lap 11. The third and final caution flag came out on lap 25 when Miller cut down a tire in turn four.  That set up a five-lap dash to the finish.  Hagar was able to hold off Adams to race his way to a historic victory with a two car-length margin of victory.

With wins in all six 2023 USCS Speedweek races, Hagar was crowned the 2023 Speedweek champion. 

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps):  1. Derek Hagar, Marion, AR; 2. Koty Adams, Haughton, LA; 3. Dale Howard, Byhalia, MS; 4. Hayden Martin, Olive Branch, MS; 5. Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN; 6. Tucker Boulton, Brighton, TN; 7. Shane Morgan, Gulfport, MS; 8. Ryan Roberts, Aurora, NE; 9. Dewayne White, Byhalia, MS; 10. Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS; 11. Lance Moss, Cherryville, NC; 12. Todd Bradford, Arlington, TN; 13. Blake Carrier, Amite, LA; 14. Terry Witherspoon, Jacksonville, FL; 15. Rusty Sanford, Seminary, MS; 16. Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS; 17. Spencer Meredith, Hernando, MS; 18. Michael Miller, Pascagoula, MS; 19. Jake Brashier, Denham Springs, LA; 20. Miles Paulus, Marshall, MO; 21. Lane Whittington, Denham Springs, LA; 22. Chase Howard, Nesbit, MS.