Dsc 7838.jpg Tulare 4 14 23
Corey Day in victory lane at Thunderbowl Raceway. (Paul Trevino photo)

Day Does It Again In California

TULARE, Calif. — Eleventh-starting Corey Day continued his tight grip of dominance in NARC 410 Sprint Series action as he won the Prelude To The Dennis Roth Classic at Thunderbowl Raceway Friday night.

His winning ride in the 30-lap NAPA Auto Parts feature was the Jason Meyers-owned Meyers Constructors/Four C’s Construction #14 Kistler-powered KPC. It is Day’s eighth career victory with the tour for the Clovis kid and the first time he has bested the field at the Tulare County Fairgrounds.

The feature was a caution-plagued affair in the opening laps, including a lap one red flag incident. Shane Golobic, driving the Works Limited No. 57 Speedway/EMI, had the initial lead but got collected in the aforementioned stoppage. That gave the top position to Washington-hired gun Trey Starks, driving for Scelzi Motorsports.

Starks, in the Scelzi Motorsports/Whipple Superchargers/Red Line Oil No. 4r Kistler/Maxim, had to deal with several restarts but managed to keep all challengers in check. However, Day built a boatload of positive momentum late in the race to maneuver via the bottom to the lead. Corey successfully obtained the top spot on lap 27 to be the new trailblazer and held on the balance of the distance.

“I didn’t think my first Tulare win would have come like that!” said Day. “People usually think I like only running top don’t know I like running the bottom just as much. That was a good race for us. I have to take my hat off to Shane (Bowers) because we struggled early in the night, and he always makes the right decisions at critical times to get us where we need to be.”

Trey Starks managed to end the evening runner-up the while his teammate Dominic Scelzi, driving his Scelzi Motorsports/Whipple Superchargers/Red Line Oil No. 41 Kistler/Maxim, posted a third-place result.

Cory Eliason, racing for Dennis and Theresa Roth for the first time since 2018, put the Roth Enterprises/HR Livestock Transportation/Roth Motorsports No. 83 Speedway/Maxim in fourth. Lastly, driving for car owner Demo Mittry, Justin Sanders completed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 laps): 1. 14-Corey Day[11]; 2. 4R-Trey Starks[3]; 3. 41-Dominic Scelzi[10]; 4. 83-Cory Eliason[5]; 5. 2X-Justin Sanders[2]; 6. 0-Tim Kaeding[19]; 7. 22-Ryan Bernal[13]; 8. 24-Chase Johnson[17]; 9. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[18]; 10. 69-Bud Kaeding[14]; 11. 88N-DJ Netto[20]; 12. 16A-Colby Copeland[6]; 13. 88A-Joey Ancona[1]; 14. 83JR-Kraig Kinser[15]; 15. 42X-Justyn Cox[9]; 16. 36-Craig Stidham[23]; 17. 21-Cole Macedo[7]; 18. 83T-Tanner Carrick[16]; 19. 37-Michael Pombo[24]; 20. 115-Nick Parker[25];