Clinton Boyles celebrates in victory lane at Kokomo Speedway. (Gary Gasper photo)

Boyles Sprints To Kokomo Klash Victory

KOKOMO, Ind. – Clinton Boyles gave veteran car owner Paul Hazen a memorable night Friday with his win in the non-winged sprint car portion of Kokomo Klash XIV.

In a non-stop feature that took just five minutes, 55 seconds to complete, Boyles led from start to finish and took the checkered flag 1.036 seconds clear of runner-up Shane Cottle.

“The People’s Champ,” Dave Darland, filled out the podium ahead of California ace Jake Swanson and Thomas Meseraull, who won the midget end of the program.

Justin Grant, Jason McDougal, Max Adams, Tye Mihocko and A.J. Hopkins made up the balance of the top-10 finishers.

The finish:

1. 57-Clinton Boyles, 2. 24p-Shane Cottle, 3. 32-Dave Darland, 4. 21az-Jake Swanson, 5. 47-Thomas Meseraull, 6. 22-Justin Grant, 7. 71P-Jason McDougal, 8. 5M-Max Adams, 9. 5-Tye Mihocko, 10. 04-AJ Hopkins, 11. 39-Matt Goodnight, 12. 24-Brian VanMeveren, 13. 57B-Cole Bodine, 14. 4p-Scotty Weir, 15. 1H-Korbyn Hayslett, 16. 01-Anthony D’Alessio, 17. 42-Brayden Clark, 18. 77S-Travis Berryhill, 19. 77-Dustin Smith, 20. 86-Keith Sheffer.