Lachlan McHugh (Mike Campbell photo)

Black Pearl No. 101 Gets Sponsorship

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — A flurry of activity on the final day made the race for the Priority Aviation $20,000 Sponsorship come down to the wire. 

In the end, the Black Pearl No. 101 sprint car team based in the Cincinnati, Ohio, area brought in the most donations toward the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum in Knoxville, Iowa. 

Australian driver Lachlan McHugh has wheeled the No. 101 this summer, but at this time the car is not entered in the Nationals.

McKenna Haase of Des Moines, Iowa will receive a $10,000 sponsorship for finishing second, and Robbie Kendall of Catonsville, Maryland finished third and will receive $5,000.

The contest brought in over $27,500 for the museum. 

“We had nine teams involved in the contest, and we’d like to thank them and their fans for their generous contributions to the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum,” said Executive Director, Bob Baker. “Richard and Jennifer Marshall came up with this plan, and we really have them to thank as well! The way that race teams and their fans have been so generous has just exceeded our expectations. We can’t thank everyone enough for their contributions in preserving the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum.”

The contest, first held in 2019, was open to any drivers and teams competing at Knoxville Raceway in either the 360 or 410 Knoxville Nationals. The driver or race team bringing the most donations through memberships or other means was awarded the $20,000, second $10,000 and third $5,000.

The Black Pearl No. 101 team headed the standings, ahead of Iowa’s McKenna Haase, Maryland’s Robbie Kendall, Ohio’s Jac Haudenschild, Iowa’s Carson McCarl, California’s Dominic Scelzi, Pennsylvania’s Lance Dewease, Pennsylvania’s Logan Schuchart and Missouri’s Brian Brown.

error: Content is protected !!