Bacon Lands Midget Ride
Brady Bacon, seen here after a win at Selinsgrove Speedway, will drive for Hayward Motorsports. (Dan Demarco photo)

Bacon Is Non-Winged Driver Of The Year

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Brady Bacon was named the Driver of the Year by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll for the second time in his career.

The award is voted on by a panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers, and the result was revealed just prior to Wednesday’s preliminary night program at the 35th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

Bacon, who won his third USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car championship, earned nine of the 11 first-place votes that were cast. Tyler Courtney and Justin Grant each received a single first-place vote.

Grant, who won four USAC features, finished second in the poll, while Chris Windom, Chase Stockon and Kyle Cummins rounded out the top five.

Interestingly, Courtney ranked seventh.

Bacon’s Dynamics, Inc./Hoffman Racing No. 69 team with Brady Bacon, earned Team of the Year honors for the third time (2008, ’16, ’20).

Max Adams was bestowed the “Wild Card Award” for his exciting non wing sprint car performances, while Rossville, Indiana’s Cole Bodine will receive the poll’s rookie-of-the-year award.

Richie Murray of USAC will receive Media Member of the Year honors for the second year in a row. Another recipient for the second-year running will be Joe Spiker of Lincoln Park Speedway and Paragon Speedway, who will again receive the Promoter of the Year award.

John Godfrey of Spike Chassis will receive Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for the fifth time.

SPEED SPORT’s LIVE From the Chili Bowl coverage is supported by MyRacePass, KICKER, Curb Records and Swann Communications! To find out more about each of our partners and to check out all of SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage, visit our Chili Bowl Index Page! DON’T MISS SPEED SPORT’S LIVE From the Chili Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 16 at 6:30 p.m. ET on MAVTV and watch the Chili Bowl finale LIVE Saturday, Jan. 16 at 8:30 p.m. on MAVTV!

error: Content is protected !!