2020 07 31 I34 All Stars Cory Eliason Kyle Larson Paul Arch Photo Dsc 0041 (8)a
Cory Eliason (26) and Kyle Larson (57) battle during last year's All Star s Midwest Swing. (Paul Arch Photo)

All Stars Hit The Road For Midwest Swing

BROWNSBURG, Ind. — The FloRacing All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 will end the month of July in a big way, aiming compasses due west for a nine-day campaign through Missouri, Kansas, and Iowa. It all kicks off on July 23-24 with a doubleheader at Missouri’s Lake Ozark Speedway.

The nine-day stretch, complete with seven events including the aforementioned Lake Ozark two-day showcase, will steer the traveling All Stars to six different venues across America’s breadbasket. It all caps off at the Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway in on July 31.

As stated, Lake Ozark Speedway’s inaugural Beach Brawl will activate the All Stars’ seven-race trek on Friday and Saturday, July 23-24. Awarding a total winner’s share equaling $18,000, action in Eldon will ignite with an $8,000-to-win preliminary on Friday, followed by a $10,000-to-win finale on Saturday. Tony Stewart’s All Stars have not visited Lake Ozark Speedway since 2004 when former Series champion and Ohio native, Greg Wilson, scored the victory. In fact, the All Stars visited Lake Ozark twice in 2004, each leading to Wilson victories.

Action will resume on July 25, at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway, where the series will hit center stage as the first-ever 410 sprint car program in the track’s history. As only Series visit to Kansas this season, the event will award a $6,000 top prize.

After an off day on July 26, the swing continues with a Tuesday night visit to the recently revamped I-70 Motorsports Park in Odessa, Mo., on July 27. The midweek blockbuster will award a $7,000 payday, welcoming the series back to the Show Me State after their short stint in neighboring Kansas.

Just two nights later, the All Stars will hit high speed yet again, this time for their final Missouri appearance this season. Dubbed the Ron Ditzfield Memorial, The July 29 program will award a whopping $10,000 share, welcoming the All Stars back to Missouri State Fair Speedway in Sedalia, for the first time since August 18, 2002. Gary Wright was the victor during that visit, one of two All Star victories owned by Wright at the sprawling half-mile.

Jumping north into the Hawkeye State, the All Star Circuit of Champions will conclude their Midwest showcase with a pair of stops in Iowa. It kicks off July 30, at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, followed by a visit to the world-famous Knoxville Raceway on July 31. Awarding a total winner’s share equaling $13,000, the Iowa doubleheader will feature a $6,000 payday at 34 Raceway, followed by a $7,000 payday at Knoxville.

Hosting All Star appearances in 2020, Kyle Larson was the man to beat at both destinations, scoring a combined $10,000 on July 31 and August 1, 2020.

Recent Kings Royal champion Tyler Courtney will lead the All Star Circuit of Champions charge into Missouri, Kansas, and Iowa as the current points leader. A five-time series winner thus far in 2021, the Indianapolis native and pilot of the Clauson Marshall Racing No. 7BC has been nothing less than impressive in his first  All Star season, accumulating 16 top-five finishes in 27 point-earning features, earning his most recent victory at Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway on June 4.

Rudeen Racing’s Cory Eliason is second in the All Star driver title chase, followed by Hunter Schuerenberg, Zeb Wise, and 10-time IRA Sprint Series champion Bill Balog.

error: Content is protected !!