Dsc 1317 Nssn Larson Abreu Lps High Limit Nearpass Photo
Kyle Larson (57) battles Rico Abreu at Lincoln Park Speedway. (David Nearpass photo)

Abreu Triumphs, Larson Is High Limit Champ

PUTNAMVILLE, Ind. — Rico Abreu picked up his second consecutive High Limit Racing Series triumph, while Kyle Larson secured the championship by seven points.

Abreu banked $23,023 for the triumph, but came up short in the championship race as Larson finished third to secure the inaugural series title.

Tyler Courtney came home second, while Kerry Madsen was fourth and Kevin Thomas Jr. finished fifth.

Abreu started on the pole for the 40-lap event, while Larson started seventh.

Larson, who was the fast qualifier for the 38-car field, earned $30,000 for the championship.

The finish:

Rico Abreu, Tyler Courtney, Kyle Larson, Kerry Madsen, Kevin Thomas Jr., Justin Peck, Zeb Wise, Chris Windom, Ryan Timms, Scotty Thiel, Ayrton Gennetten, Brenham Crouch, J.J. Hickle, Parker Price-Miller, Jake Swanson, Brady Bacon, Conner Morrell, Cap Henry, Justin Sanders, C.J. Leary, Chase Randall, Robert Ballou, Darin Naida, Cory Eliason, Buddy Kofoid.