2021 08 07 Knoxville 360 Giovanni Scelzi Paul Arch Photo Dsc 0924 (14)a
Gio Scelzi claimed the $15,000 victory for winning the 31st Annual 360 Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. (Paul Arch photo)

360 Knoxville Nationals Ready To Roll

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The 32nd annual 360 Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank runs Thursday through Saturday this weekend at Knoxville Raceway.

While the event has become a premier attraction for sprint car racers and fans from coast to coast and the traditional lead-in to the NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals at the historic half-mile dirt track located at the Marion County Fairgrounds.

When it was first run in 1991, the event was known as the Limited Sprint Nationals and it was run the weekend following the Knoxville Nationals.

The inaugural event drew 58 cars — the same number as the first Supermodified Nationals (now known as the Knoxville Nationals) in 1961. A crowd estimated at 4,000 saw Knoxville regular David Hesmer come on strong during the second half of the 25-lap event and earn the victory and a $2,500 payday.

The event moved to May in 1992 and was run in September in 1993 when it was known as the Knoxville 360 Nationals for the first time. Garry Lee Maier won in ’92 and ’93.

Still, the 360 Nationals didn’t find its permanent home on the schedule for more than a decade. It was run at the end of August and mid-July and enjoyed a five-year stint in mid-June before it took it’s now-permanent date on the weekend prior to the Knoxville Nationals in 2004.

This year’s Knoxville 360 Nationals could pay the winner as much as $30,000. The winner’s prize is $15,000, plus $500 for every lap led during the 30-lap main event on Saturday night.

More than 100 cars are entered for the three-night event, including defending race winner Giovanni Scelzi. The total purse for the event is $119,270.

Knoxville 360 Nationals Winners

1991    David Hesmer

1992    Garry Lee Maier

1993    Garry Lee Maier

1994    Lee Nelson

1995    Danny Lasoski

1996    Terry McCarl

1997    David Hesmer

1998    Gary Wright

1999    Dennis Moore Jr.

2000    Wayne Johnson

2001    Terry McCarl

2002    Jeff Swindell

2003    Dennis Moore Jr.

2004    Billy Alley

2005    Billy Alley

2006    Jesse Giannetto

2007    Shane Stewart

2008    Wayne Johnson

2009    Terry McCarl

2010    Shane Stewart

2011    Shane Stewart

2012    Shane Stewart

2013    Shane Stewart

2014    Brian Brown

2015    Terry McCarl

2016    Sammy Swindell

2017    Clint Garner

2018    Terry McCarl

2019    James McFadden

2020    Kerry Madsen

2021    Giovanni Scelzi

Mrp Banner Knox Posts