Brandon Waelti in victory lane at Angell Park Speedway. (Badger photo)

Waelti Is Badger Midget Winner

SUN PRAIRIE, Wis. — Brandon Waelti took home his second Advanced Fastening Supply Badger Midget series victory of the season Sunday at Angell Park Speedway.

Thirty-one Badger Midgets packed the pits as racing action loomed. Zach Boden, the 2022 AFS Badger Midget series champion and the 2003 champ, Davey Ray, both made their first appearances of the 2023 season.

The FiveOne Motorsports Fast Time Award went to Todd Kluever with a lap of 15.250 seconds followed by Davey Ray.

The feature rolled off with Cody Weisensel and Kyle Stark on the front row. Weisensel got the better start and maintained an early lead. Stark fell back as the 3W of Brandon Waelti moved up into the second spot. Waelti was able to chase down Weisensel and a battle broke out, with the 20 of Weisensel on the bottom and the 3W of Waelti on top. Waelti was eventually able to find his way into the lead on lap six.

The only yellow of the race flew on lap nine as the 40 of Jace Sparks found himself facing the wrong way in turn four. Waelti led the field back to green but Weisensel made a bid for the lead and snuck under Waelti. Waleit was able to rally and get back by the next lap. The 38 of Matt Rechek fought his way up into the top three with just under ten laps to go showing a nose to both Weisensel and Waelti. Fending off challenges from every side and every lane wasn’t easy for Waelti but he was able to cross the line first to take his second feature win of the season. Weisensel Sark, who made a late race charge, Recheck, and rookie Parker Jones rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 3W-Brandon Waelti[4]; 2. 20-Cody Weisensel[1]; 3. 2-Kyle Stark[2]; 4. 38-Matt Rechek[5]; 5. 41-Parker Jones[3]; 6. 5X-Adam Taylor[6]; 7. 9S-Mike Stroik[10]; 8. 20D-Derek Doerr[7]; 9. 19E-Daltyn England[8]; 10. 57-Ronnie Gardner[15]; 11. 51-Zach Boden[16]; 12. 15C-RJ Corson[11]; 13. 87-Jake Dohner[17]; 14. 40-Jace Sparks[9]; 15. 24-Aaron Muhle[14]; 16. 53-Aaron Schuck[18]; 17. 57M-Mark McMahill[13]; 18. 53M-Miles Doherty[12]; 19. 1W-Robby Wirth[20]; 20. 8-Jake Goeglein[21]; 21. 68-Eric Blumer[22]; 22. 5K-Kevin Douglas[19]