Heat race action during the Tulsa Shootout Wednesday at Tulsa Expo Raceway. (Richard Bales photo)
The Tulsa Shootout entry record has already been broken. (Richard Bales photo)

Tulsa Shootout Sets New Entry Record

TULSA, Okla. – The Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout, scheduled for Dec. 29-Jan. 1, has set a new record for the number of entries received.

Smashing the record set in 2020 at 1,397 entries among 606 drivers, the 2022 event has already received 1,430 entries among 617 drivers. Making the number of entries more impressive is the 2022 show will feature the fewest classes of any Tulsa Shootout, with only six divisions.

“We’ve been ahead from where we were in previous years and figured we would be close to the record, but this is crazy how many we have before the event,” said Terry Mattox, who oversees entries for the Tulsa Shootout.

Mattox is unsure how many more entries are expected prior to the event.

“It’s tough to say. We’ve had as many as 250 more enter at the event before practice,” Mattox said.

Currently, drivers are representing 392 municipalities across 35 United States and one Australian Province.

Previous Golden Driller winners in the mix number 21, with four returning to defend their 2021 victory, and one looking for a new challenge to conquer as 600cc Modifieds no longer participate in the Tulsa Shootout.
Defending champions returning to the event include Kris Carroll (Non-Wing Outlaw), Lucas Mauldin (Jr. Sprint), Mitchel Moles (Outlaw), Jaxton Wiggs (Restricted) and Mason Keefer (600cc Modified).

Previous Shootout winners that are also on the entry list include Jade Avedisian (1), Brady Bacon (4), Jett Barnes (1), Brad Best (1), Alex Bright (1), Michael Faccinto (2), Frank Flud (4), Jake Hagopian (1), Blake Hahn (7), Trey Marcham (2), Jadon Rogers (1), Kyle Spence (2), Darren Stewart (3), Jason Tyer (1), Chad Winfrey (2) and Austin Wood (1).

error: Content is protected !!