Chase McDermand in victory lane Saturday night at Beaver Dam Raceway.
Chase McDermand in victory lane Saturday night at Beaver Dam Raceway. (Bob Cruse Photo)

McDermand Tops Scott Semmelman Memorial

BEAVER DAM, Wis. – Chase McDermand won the the Scott Semmelman Memorial 25-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature Saturday night at Beaver Dam Raceway.

Mitchell Davis took the lead at the start of the feature, with McDermand passing three cars on the opening lap, after starting in eighth position. A five-car accident occured one lap later. The events only other caution occurred on the third lap, for a stalled car. McDermand was in third place trailing Davis, and Jeff Zelinski on the restart.

Davis continued to lead after the restart, with McDermand passing Zelinski for second place on lap seven. McDermand then chased down Davis for the lead on Lap 11. One lap later series points leader Jack Routson took over second place. McDermand began lapping cars, with ten laps remaining. Davis retired from the event with mechanical problems on lap 18, running in fourth place.

McDermand maintained his lead over Routson during the remainder of the event, while racing in lapped traffic. McDermand driving the Kevin McDermand owned Spike/Chevrolet No. 40, finished three-car lengths ahead of Routson, who was trying for his second consecutive victory at the track. Third place finisher Kyle Brinkman scored a career best feature finish. Zelinski and rookie Matt Recheck completed the top five.

“We just finished putting a brand-new car together and it was perfect every time it hit the track. Bill Guess did our set-up work and had us dialed in tonight. The last few laps being in lapped traffic made things interesting, but I caught the cars at the right place on the track,” said McDermand.

The finish:

Chase McDermand, Jack Routson, Kyle Brinkmann, Jeff Zelinski, Matt Recheck, Ryan Probst, Zach Boden, Jim Fuerst, Mike Stroik, Sean Murphy, A.J. Meiferdt, Kyle Koch, Harrison Kleven, Shay Sassano, Mitchell Davis, Dave Collins Jr., Kevin Olson, Brian Peterson, Tristan Koenings, Denny Smith, Pat Henson.

error: Content is protected !!