It's A $10,000 Valvoline
Carson Macedo swept midget and sprint car features on Saturday in Australia. (Valvoline Raceway photo)

It’s A $10,000 Valvoline Raceway Sweep For Macedo

GRANVILLE, Australia – California’s Carson Macedo collected a handsome payday on Saturday during the Hi-Tec Oils Ultimate Speedway Challenge at Valvoline Raceway.

Macedo became just the third driver in the 42-year history of the .285-mile Australian dirt track to win both sprint car and midget A-mains on the same night, joining fellow American Ron Shuman and Australian icon Garry Rush in that category.

By doing so, he earned a $10,000 bonus for car owners Sean and Felicity Dyson.

“I can’t thank this team enough, the cars I’ve driven tonight are two of the best in the world,” said Macedo, the reigning World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series rookie of the year. “I can’t thank Sean and Felicity and their entire team enough. The cars were better than I was a lot of times and I made a few mistakes but it’s great to get these wins for the team and a great way to start off our season here in Sydney.”

Macedo started alongside Matt Jackson on the front row of the midget A-main, and once he took the lead from Jackson for good on the sixth round he was never headed again.

Kaidon Brown finished second in the midget feature, followed by Jackson, Nathan Smee and Todd Wigzell.

Smee attempted a huge slide job on Macedo during a late-race restart, but despite his best efforts Macedo was able to maintain command out front and pull away in the end.

Carson Macedo at Valvoline Raceway during Saturday’s sprint car main event. (Valvoline Raceway photo)

The sprint car feature saw Macedo come from the fourth row to claim victory, dropping back as far as 10th on the opening lap before carving his way through the 20-car field.

Macedo’s winning pass in that race came with five to go, when he got around race-long leader Sam Walsh and drove off to victory.

Marcus Dumesny made a last lap pass of Walsh to finish second, while Jackson Delamont and Ben Atkison completed the top five.

The finishes:

Midgets (30 laps): Carson Macedo, Kaidon Brown, Matthew Jackson, Nathan Smee, Todd Wigzell, Darren Vine, Dan Biner, Dave Lambert, Braydan Willmington, Rusty Whittaker, Bob Jackson, Paul Murphy, Jamie Hall, Domain Ramsay, Rod Francis, DJ Raw, Cameron Ware.

Sprint Cars (30 laps): Carson Macedo, Marcus Dumesny, Sam Walsh, Jackson Delamont, Ben Atkinson, Troy Little, Daniel Sayre, James Thompson, Michael Stewart, Ryan Jones, Ben Atkinson Jr., Warren Ferguson, Mick Saller, Daniel Cassidy, Jordyn Brazier, Danny Reidy, Max Dumesny, Jessie Attard, Andrew Scheuerle, Blake Skipper.