Dustin Cormany races his way to the victory at Adobe Mountain Speedway. (Maxwell Patrick Imagery)

Cormany Notches WMR Southwest Opener

GLENDALE, Ariz. — The Southwest Region for Western Midget Racing kicked off on Saturday night at Adobe Mountain Speedway, with Dustin Cormany topping a strong 21-car turnout for his first-career WMR feature win.

Cormany, 2022 Ventura Raceway WMR champion A.J. Hernandez and Drake Edwards split the three heat races on the one-fifth mile dirt track north of Phoenix. A 12-lap B-Main was required to narrow the field to 16 starters, with Tyler High claiming the win.

Cormany and Hernandez shared the front row for the feature. Cormany drove ahead with the early advantage while Edwards drove past Hernandez to take second.

Edwards reeled in Cormany and jumped inside of him for the lead in turn one on lap 12 but was unable to complete the pass. He continued to run on the rear bumper of Cormany as they approached slower traffic.

A large fire underneath the No. 01 Boss Chassis of Nathan High required a red flag on lap 15. High was able to escape the vehicle uninjured.

The restart placed Cormany, Edwards, and Hernandez in close quarters for a five-lap shootout to the checkered flag. Hernandez snookered Edwards for second on the restart while Cormany drove ahead with a five-car length advantage.

Cormany earned his first-career Western Midget Racing feature win followed by Hernandez, Edwards, Gary DeWitt and Dale Eliason, Jr.

Edwards was later disqualified post-race for being light at the scales, boosting Las Vegas’ Racin Silva into the top-five. Tyler High charged from 14th to finish sixth as well.

Western Midget Racing stages round two of the Southwest Region on March 4 at Adobe Mountain Speedway.

The Finish:

Feature (20 Laps): 1. 14C-Dustin Cormany[1]; 2. 11-AJ Hernandez[2]; 3. 48-Gary DeWitt[5]; 4. 43-Dale Eliason Jr[4]; 5. 5S-Racin Silva[6]; 6. 33AZ-Tyler High[14]; 7. 31-todd hawse[7]; 8. 22-Lonnie Oliver[8]; 9. 20-Kyle Hawse[10]; 10. 20AZ-Chase Farris[9]; 11. 28-JR Wood[15]; 12. 32-Tyler Brown[11]; 13. 3AZ-Chloe High[13]; 14. 50S-Rocky Silva[16]; 15. (DNF) 01-Nathan High[12]; 16. (DQ) 3E-Drake Edwards[3]