Grant Fri Winner
Justin Grant has won five of the last six Friday night features at the Chili Bowl. (Frank Smith photo)

Contenders Target Grant In Friday Prelim

TULSA, Okla. — Justin Grant is one of the most successful drivers in Chili Bowl history who has not claimed the big prize on Saturday night at the SageNet Center.

Grant has won the Friday night preliminary feature in five of the last six years and will be looking for another triumph on Hard Rock Casino Qualifying night. Grant, who will steer the RMS Racing No. 2 midget, has qualified for six Saturday night main events with a best finish of second in 2021.

Drivers from a variety of teams will challenge Grant on Friday night, led by the Keith Kunz Motorsports duo of Bryant Wiedeman and Brenham Crouch. Crouch is the reigning POWRi Midget League champion and Wiedeman won the title in 2021.

Zeb Wise will wheel the No. 26 for Rudeen Racing, while Kyle Cummins will run his own No. 3 machine.

Chili Bowl veteran Daryn Pittman is part of the Matt Wood Racing stable this season. Pittman has started 16 preliminary-night features over the years, with his first coming in 1997. He was twice a preliminary-night runner-up. Pittman has made eight Saturday night features, finishing second in 2017.

Logan Seavey will pilot Kevin Swindell’s familiar No. 39 midget. Seavey has four Saturday A-feature starts, with a best finish of fourth in 2020. Seavey has finished sixth or better in all four of his preliminary-night features, claiming a victory in 2019.

Driving a second Tanner Thorson Racing entry, Ace McCarthy could be a darkhorse on Friday night. Others to watch include Andrew Felker, Indy car racer Santino Ferrucci, Briggs Danner, Jason McDougal, Alex Bright and Hunter Schuerenberg.

The top-two finishers in Friday’s 30-lap feature will be locked into Saturday’s main event.

Friday Night Entries

0 — Johnny Murdock
00B (R) — Braden Chiaramonte
00J — Jamie Speers
01 — Bryant Wiedeman
1M (R) — Mason Smith
1T — Tyler Shoemaker
1S — TBA
1W — Bryon Walters
2J — Justin Grant
3G — Kyle Cummins
4F — Chad Frewaldt
7D — Michelle Decker
7P — AJ Hopkins
7Z (R) — Ryan Powers
8W — Troy Rutherford
10C — Dalton Camfield
10J — Earl McDoulett Jr
11A — Andrew Felker
11B — Clinton Boyles
11G — Avery Goodman
11X — Donovan Peterson
12 — Corbin Gurley
12M — TBA
14 — Cody Hays
14J — Jody Rosenboom
14M — Michael Faccinto
16 — Santino Ferrucci
17B — Austin Barnhill
17H — Harli White
19 — Brian Carber
19B — Alex Bright
19J (R) — Jack Berger
19M — Ethan Mitchell
19U — Pierce Urbanosky
20 — Tadd Holliman
21 — Daryn Pittman
21K (R) — Dale Curran
21X (R) — Justin Bates
22J — Taylor Kuehl
23K — Kyle Simon
24T (R) — Glenn James Bratti
26R — Zeb Wise
28 — Ace McCarthy
31 — David Budres
36 — Kevin Reed
39 — Logan Seavey
40M — Chase McDermand
41W — Brad Wyatt
44X — Wesley Smith
45H — Briggs Danner
47X — Jason McDougal
55K — Todd Kluever
56M — TBA
57A — Shane Cottle
59 (R) — Richard Harvey
66 (R) — Harry Elzo
68B — Jason Martin
68W — Matt Mitchell
73H — Hunter Schuerenberg
74 — Drew Rader
77X — Wayne Johnson
81G (R) — Greyson Springer
87 (R) — Jace Park
87C — Austin Garrett
87F — Johnny Kent
95 — Chris Andrews
97 — Brenham Crouch
127 (R) — James Picardi
129 — TBA