Christopher Bell is seeking his fourth Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals triumph this week. (Brendon Bauman photo)

Bell Leads Thursday’s Chili Bowl Field Into Battle

TULSA, Okla. – As the 35th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals winds into its second half at Tulsa Expo Raceway, the entry list for John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night is headlined by three-time event winner Christopher Bell.

Bell, who hoisted the Golden Driller from 2017-’19, will wheel the iRacing/ No. 84x Spike-Speedway Toyota for CB Industries, the growing powerhouse owned by Chad Boat that earned the USAC midget championship last year.

The Norman, Okla., native is already a winner this week, topping the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions on Tuesday evening.

Buddy Kofoid, last year’s Chili Bowl Rookie of the Year who finished third on his preliminary night and impressed Bell and others during the Thursday feature a year ago, is back for another go in the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports No. 67 Bullet- Speedway Toyota.

Kofoid, from Penngrove, Calif., is seeking his first Chili Bowl preliminary night win and his second start in as many tries in the Saturday main event.

Kaylee Bryson will be in a second KKM car competing Thursday, hoping to become the first female driver to ever make the Saturday A Main at the Chili Bowl, while Logan Seavey will strap into a Swindell Motorsports with Mike Curb entry chasing his fourth Chili Bowl start.

Zeb Wise is driving for his third team in as many years in Tulsa – this time with the Matt Wood Racing stable – and triple USAC sprint car champion Brady Bacon will step into the Kelly Hinck-owned No. 21h after the death of his longtime Chili Bowl car owner, Frank Manafort, last spring.

Other notables in the Thursday field include five-time ASCS National Tour champion Sam Hafertepe Jr., Oklahoma USAC ace Jason McDougal, Midwest Sprint Car Series king Chase Stockon, dirt modified star Nick Hoffman, NASCAR regular Garrett Smithley and NHRA Top Fuel star Austin Prock – who got his start in midgets before moving to drag racing.

Sixty-seven total cars are slated on the John Christner Trucking Night entry list, including TBA entries from RMS Racing and Reinbold-Underwood Motorsports.

John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night Entry List

Car No. – Driver – Hometown (Entrant)

0k – Don O’Keefe Jr. – Pittsboro, Ind. (LOK Enterprises)
1g – Chase Stockon – Fort Branch, Ind. (Jack Yeley)
1s – Spencer Bayston – Lebanon, Ind. (RMS Racing)
2d – Matt Sherrell – Owasso, Okla. (Dan & Patricia Harris)
2h – Nick Hoffman – Mooresville, N.C. (RAMS Racing)
2L – Matt Linder – Braselton, Ga. (Mark Bush)
4b – Jason McDougal – Broken Arrow, Okla. (Klatt Enterprises)
4cm – Cody Jessop – Madera, Calif. (Morgan Frewaldt)
5h – Casey Hicks – Platte City, Mo (Casey Hicks)
5w – Ben Worth – Coalinga, Calif. (Petry Motorsports)
7m – Brody Roa – Buena Park, Calif. (Iron Dome-Moonshine Motorsports)
7mf – Chance Morton – Coweta, Okla. (Blane Morton)
7t – TBA – TBA (RMS Racing)
08j – Jace McIntosh – Bixby, Okla. (Dave Mac Motorsports)
8b – Brock Berreth – Tulsa, Okla. (Beason Holdings)
11a – Andrew Felker – Carl Junction, Mo. (Felker-Shields Racing)
11g – Mike Goodman – Broken Arrow, Okla. (Travis Jenkins)
11x – Donovan Peterson – Brookings, S.D. (Metalworx Motorsports)
12s – Brent Shearer – Manheim, Pa. (Glenn Motorsports)
15 – Aaron Farney – Brookston, Ind. (MSW Motorsports)
15d – Andrew Deal – Caney, Kan. (Mike Deal)
15h – Sam Hafertepe Jr. – Sunnyvale, Texas (Hafertepe)
15n – Joey Brasil – Modesto, Calif. (Neverlift Motorsports)
15x – Carson Garrett – Littleton, Colo. (Broc Garrett)
17 – Tanner Berryhill – Bixby, Okla. (Tyler Thomas Motorsports)
17b – Ryan Bickett – Ramona, S.D. (Jody Rosenboom)
17d – Garrett Smithley – Ligonier, Pa. (Koontz Racing)
17x – Tres Mehler – Oblong, Ill. (Next Level Metal)
19p – Austin Prock – Avon, Ind. (Hayward Motorsports)
19x – TBA – TBA (Reinbold-Underwood)
20g – Noah Gass – Mounds, Okla. (Dave Mac Motorsports)
21d – Justin Dickerson – Pittsboro, Ind. (Mike Dickerson)
21g – Trey Gropp – Lincoln, Neb. (Team Ripper)
21h – Brady Bacon – Broken Arrow, Okla. (Kelly Hinck)
22t – Don Droud Jr. – Lincoln. Neb. (Hard Promises)
25b – Steve Buckwalter – Royersford, Pa. (Brian Buckwalter)
25c – Courtney Crone – Corona, Calif. (Tom Malloy)
26m – Marshall Skinner – Marion, Ark. (Shawn Wood)
28q – Sean Quinn – Clovis, Calif. (Jody Rosenboom)
29 – Tim Buckwalter – Douglassville, Pa. (Matt Seymour)
31k – Frankie Guerrini – San Rafael, Calif. (Beilman Motorsports)
35L – Cody Ledger – Omaha, Neb. (Ledger Racing)
37w – Zeb Wise – Angola, Ind. (Matt Wood Racing)
39 – Logan Seavey – Sutter, Calif. (Swindell Motorsports)
40 – J.T. Imperial – Mesa, Ariz. (Ashley & Laura Corey)
47c – Chance Crum – Snohomish, Wash. (Clauson Marshall Racing)
49j – Joe B. Miller – Millersville, Mo. (Lewis)
51x – Joe Walker – Harrisonville, Mo. (Walker Motorsports)
53r – Sean Robbins – Collinsville, Ill. (Scott & Tyler Robbins)
56x – Mark Chisholm – Cheyenne, Wyo. (Mark Chisholm)
58 – Harley Rose – San Jose, Calif. (Chris Slay)
61 – Kenny Koelsch – Broken Arrow, Okla. (Glenn Bratti)
67 – Buddy Kofoid – Penngrove, Calif. (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian)
69 – Stephen “Gravy” Fairfield – Jacksonville, Ill. (Tom Casson)
71 – Kaylee Bryson – Muskogee, Okla. (Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian)
71d – Jeff Wheeler – Rockwall, Texas (Donita Morris)
72c – Jeffrey Champagne – Westfield, Mass. (Sam Johnson Racing)
78m – Merle Scherb – Runaway Bay, Texas (Scott Scherb)
79m – Keith Martin – Burleson, Texas (Ryan Hall Racing)
83 – T.J. Smith – Fresno, Calif. (JFM-Martens)
84s – Shaun Shapel – Wichita, Kan. (Phil Shapel)
84x – Christopher Bell – Norman, Okla. (CB Industries)
87f – Johnny Kent – Kiefer, Okla. (Kelly Fode)
88 – Terry Babb – Decatur, Ill. (Babb Racing)
93 – Kyle Bellm – Nixa, Mo. (Dustin Morgan Racing)
117 – Ryan Ellis – Fairfax, Va. (Randy Washburn)
321 – Chad Winfrey – Gladstone, Mo. (Factory Delty)

SPEED SPORT’s LIVE From the Chili Bowl coverage is supported by MyRacePass, KICKER, Curb Records and Swann Communications! To find out more about each of our partners and to check out all of SPEED SPORT’s Chili Bowl coverage, visit our Chili Bowl Index Page! DON’T MISS SPEED SPORT’S LIVE From the Chili Bowl on Saturday, Jan. 16 at 6:30 p.m. ET on MAVTV and watch the Chili Bowl finale LIVE Saturday, Jan. 16 at 8:30 p.m. on MAVTV!

error: Content is protected !!