Ryan Timms at Lucas Oil Speedway. (Richard Bales Photo)

Timms Claims ASCS Lucas Oil Speedway Feature

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Mother Nature delayed things by a day, but it was worth the wait as Ryan Timms followed up his Thursday prelim victory with a $10,000 payday and his first championship feature event win at the Jesse Hockett/ Daniel McMillin Memorial with the American Sprint Car Series presented by at Lucas Oil Speedway.

“I’m really happy I was able to get this win. This is a bucket-list race to win, and I’m glad I was able to get it done this year. I want to thank the Hockett family for everything they do for this event,” stated Timms, who joined Johnny Herrera as the only other driver to win a Sunday showdown at the Hockett/McMillin Memorial.

Leading all by the opening lap Saturday night, which was led by Jake Bubak, Timms shot into the lead on the second revolution. Challenged once during one of the four-race stoppages, the No. 5t rolled to the finish with a 1.667-second advantage, running multiple grooves throughout the 30-lap event.

“It was rubbered up earlier on today and rubbered up for that non-wing feature, so I was really expecting it to all blow off really fast and go straight to the top and just conserve your tires,” Timms said. “The track actually stayed together fairly well.”

Jason Martin fought his way to a runner-up finish, with Bubak ending up third after slipping back to fifth during the mid-point of the feature event.

Mounting a huge charge and at one point looking like he was going to roll by the field, Tim Estenson railed the cushion for a ten-spot gain to finish fourth. Up from ninth with a late race charge, Hank Davis completed the top five.

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

1. 5T-Ryan Timms[1]; 2. 36-Jason Martin[3]; 3. 1X-Jake Bubak[2]; 4. 14T-Tim Estenson[14]; 5. 1H-Hank Davis[9]; 6. 1-Sean McClelland[6]; 7. 52-Blake Hahn[4]; 8. 4W-Jamie Ball[5]; 9. 95-Matt Covington[18]; 10. 98P-Miles Paulus[13]; 11. 12-Jeffrey Newell[22]; 12. 9JR-Derek Hagar[10]; 13. 3-Howard Moore[19]; 14. 87J-Jace Park[7]; 15. 45X-Kyler Johnson[24]; 16. 187-Landon Crawley[21]; 17. 10C-Jeremy Campbell[11]; 18. 14-Jordon Mallett[20]; 19. 2-Chase Porter[25]; 20. 6-Christopher Townsend[17]; 21. 6Z-Zane DeVault[16]; 22. 12X-Garet Williamson[8]; 23. 2C-Wayne Johnson[12]; 24. 55B-Brandon Anderson[23]; 25. 14E-Kyle Bellm[15]