Kyle Larson (center) shares the podium with Carson Macedo and Rico Abreu. (Ben Thrasher photo)
Kyle Larson (center) shares the podium with Carson Macedo and Rico Abreu Saturday at Arizona Speedway. (Ben Thrasher photo)

Larson Gets No. 45 In Arizona

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Kyle Larson completed a weekend sweep of the ASCS Southwest Region of the Copper Classic at Arizona Speedway, grabbing his 45th dirt-track victory of the season.

Through the first two turns, Rico Abreu ripped the cushion to the race lead with J.J. Hickle and Larson giving chase. Into traffic quickly, Abreu continued to hold the lead with Hickle staying within striking distance.

Hickle took the point down the backstretch on lap seven but could not hold the position as Abreu reclaimed the lead.

Falling to third soon after as Larson passed, the No. 57 was in hot pursuit of Abreu.

To the bottom of the speedway as the race neared the halfway point, Larson was denied the advance. Getting the rubber band wound up two laps later, Larson again shot the hub with Abreu keeping Larson at bay.

Side by side on lap 18, Larson took the lead, but the move would not count as the caution put the No. 24 back atop the leaderboard. Keeping pace in clean air, Abreu pounded the cushion with Larson running in his tire tracks while the battle for third saw Carson Macedo pass Hickle.

Starting to find the back of the field again, a mistake by Abreu with eight laps to go was just enough for Larson to steal the lead. Pulling away through the closing laps, Larson crossed with 2.584 seconds to spare.

Taking away second in the closing laps, Macedo finished ahead of Abreu for the California podium sweep. Washington’s Hickle grabbed fourth with Missouri’s Garet Williamson completing the top five.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson[3]; 2. 21-Carson Macedo[6]; 3. 24-Rico Abreu[2]; 4. 63-JJ Hickle[1]; 5. 24W-Garet Williamson[4]; 6. 19A-Buddy Kofoid[8]; 7. 41-Colton Hardy[5]; 8. 16A-Justin Sanders[12]; 9. 2X-Chase Majdic[18]; 10. 8-Devon Borden[7]; 11. 19AZ-Spencer Bayston[13]; 12. 5V-Kalib Henry[19]; 13. 88N-DJ Netto[10]; 14. 56-Sammy Swindell[17]; 15. 5T-Ryan Timms[9]; 16. 5C-Colby Copeland[21]; 17. 01-Mitchel Moles[24]; 18. 1B-Brenham Crouch[14]; 19. 20G-Noah Gass[23]; 20. 13-Tim Kaeding[11]; 21. 83T-Tanner Carrick[22]; 22. 29-Jeff Oliver[16]; 23. 5H-Michael Faccinto[15]; 24. 1X-Robbie Price[20]