Wayne Johnson
Wayne Johnson in victory lane at I-30 Speedway. (ASCS photo)

Johnson Rules I-30 ASCS Sprint

 LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Still on the mend from a massive crash at the start of the month, Wayne Johnson proved why he is called “The Iron Man” on Saturday night.

Johnson led from start to finish on a very tricky I-30 Speedway surface with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

The fourth time Wayne has topped the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series at “Hammer Hill,” Saturday’s triumph is his 58th with the tour, his fourth National win this year and his sixth in overall competition.

“I’m going to tell you right now, guys, the best car didn’t win this race. Cody’s car was way better than mine, pretty much anywhere we wanted to go,” commented Wayne, giving credit to the job done by Cody Gardner.

“Hats off to the I-30 crew for giving us a smooth race track. I had that crash at WaKeeney and believe it or not, I have 14 bulging disks in my back, so I’m probably stupid for being out here, so really, thank you to the track crew for making it easier on my back.”

Officially leading all 25 laps, Johnson actually lost the point on two occasions, only to have the caution bring the field back to the last fully complete lap.

Stalked into traffic as the field worked lap seven, the following trip put 12th starting Cody Gardner at Johnson’s side with inches the advantage for the No. 2c. Falling to second working lap nine, the caution lights came on as just over half the field made it to the line.

Advancing Johnson back to the lead, a couple of attempts at the restart all saw Johnson holding the point as Gardner and Dale Howard went to work.

Top to bottom still at both ends of the I-30 Speedway, the Little Rock regulars were there as the field began lap 17. Relegating Johnson to third in a single shot, the top six were the only ones who crossed before the yellow flag flew again.

Still utilizing the top of the track in hopes of getting the run on Johnson, the final laps went the way of the No. 2c, as the field was forced to the bottom with Johnson holding off Gardner by .465 seconds. Dale Howard crossed third with Tim Crawley fourth. Blake Hahn completed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2C-Wayne Johnson[1]; 2. G6-Cody Gardner[12]; 3. 47-Dale Howard[6]; 4. 1X-Tim Crawley[5]; 5. 52-Blake Hahn[7]; 6. 9JR-Derek Hagar[11]; 7. 3-Howard Moore[9]; 8. 55B-Brandon Anderson[18]; 9. 95-Matt Covington[8]; 10. 8-Brad Bowden[15]; 11. 187-Landon Crawley[22]; 12. 24-Garet Williamson[16]; 13. 47X-Sean McClelland[13]; 14. 14-Jordon Mallett[14]; 15. 17B-Ryan Bickett[3]; 16. 91X-Michael Day[21]; 17. 13C-Chase Howard[19]; 18. 36-Jason Martin[17]; 19. 10P-Dylan Postier[24]; 20. 22J-Jax Redline[4]; 21. 26-Marshall Skinner[10]; 22. 45X-Kyler Johnson[2]; 23. 30-Joseph Miller[20]; 24. 10-Landon Britt[23]